This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 10 °C Sunday 18 November, 2018

St Thomas All-Ireland senior winners included in Galway minor hurling side

Galway face Laois in next Sunday’s All-Ireland minor quarter-final.

Shane Cooney celebrates during St Thomas All-Ireland club victory.
Shane Cooney celebrates during St Thomas All-Ireland club victory.
Image: INPHO/Cathal Noonan

ST THOMAS ALL-Ireland senior club hurling winners Shane Cooney and Eanna Burke are both part of the Galway minor hurling side that face Laois in Sunday’s All-Ireland quarter-final tie.

Cooney started in that St Patrick’s Day triumph against Kilcormac-Killoughey while Burke – who had five older brothers involved in a team that was managed by his father John –  came on as a substitute.

Cooney has been named at centre-back for next Sunday’s game in Semple Stadium while Burke will play at midfield.

Both players were involved when Galway lost out in the All-Ireland minor semi-final against Tipperary last August.

Galway can also call upon corner-back Maidhc O Conghaile, full-back Darragh O’Donoghue, midfielder Darragh Dolan, centre-forward Ronan O’Meara and corner-forward Brian Molloy who all started in that 2-16 to 1-14 defeat in Croke Park against the Premier County.

Wing-backs Sean Linnane and Richard Doyle and wing-forward Adrian Morrissey were all amongst the substitutes on that Galway side.

GALWAY: Cathal Tuohy; Maidhc O Conghaile, Darragh O’Donoghue, Michael Conneely; Sean Linnane, Shane Cooney, Richard Doyle; Eanna Burke, Darragh Dolan; Adrian Morrissey, Ronan O’Meara, Conor Whelan; Brian Molloy, Brian Burke, Conor Shaughnessy.

The Galway subsitutes have also been named for the game.

Subs: Vincent Doyle, Dermot O Halloran, Conor Jennings, Ronan Bellew, Eamonn Brannigan, Jack Hastings, Aidan Helebert, Shane Burle, Kevin McHugo.

Time off the only speedbump for Dublin hurlers – Cummins

Here’s your GAA coverage on TV and Radio this week

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel