12 counties represented on New York team with 4 debutants on Galway side for Big Apple clash

Kevin Walsh’s side flew out to New York on Thursday morning.

Image: Ed Mulholland/INPHO

Updated 14.22pm

GALWAY MANAGER KEVIN Walsh has named his starting XV for Sunday’s Connacht SFC opener against New York.

The Tribesmen flew out to the Big Apple this morning with three of Corofin’s All-Ireland club championship winning side set to start in Gaelic Park (8pm Irish time).

Liam Silke, Gary Sice and Micheál Lundy all retain their places following their involvement in the latter stages of the league campaign.

Silke, Cathal and Patrick Sweeney, and Peadar Ó Gríofa all make their championship debuts.

Liam Silke with Diarmuid Connolly Liam Silke in action for Corofin against St Vincent's Diarmuid Connolly in the All-Ireland club semi-final Source: Donall Farmer/INPHO

Corner-back Johnny Duane and forward Danny Cummins have both been passed fit following their respective ankle and hamstring injuries.

Tom Flynn (knee), Gareth Bradshaw (ankle) and Damien Comer (mouth) are all included on the subs bench.

Kevin Walsh Galway boss Kevin Walsh. Source: Presseye/Russell Pritchard/INPHO


1. Brian O’Donoghue (Claregalway)

2. Johnny Duane (St James)
3. Finian Hanley (Salthill/Knocknacarra)
4. Cathal Sweeney (Killannin)

5. Liam Silke (Corofin)
6. Gary O’Donnell (Tuam Stars)
7. Seán Denvir (Micheal Breathnach)

8. Fiontán Ó Curraoin (Micheal Breathnach)
9. Paul Conroy (St James) – captain

10. Gary Sice (Corofin)
11. Shane Walsh (Kilkerrin/Clonberne)
12. Michael Lundy (Corofin)

13. Peadar Ó Gríofa (Micheal Breathnach)
14. Patrick Sweeney (Killannin)
15. Danny Cummins (Claregalway)

Danny Cummins and Barry Prior Galway's Danny Cummins Source: James Crombie/INPHO

16. Tom Healy (Corofin)
17. Gareth Bradshaw (Moycullen)
18. Ian Burke (Corofin)
19. Damien Comer (Annaghdown)
20. Adrian Varley (Cortoon Shamrocks)
21. Tom Flynn (Athenry)
22. Paul Varley (Cortoon Shamrocks)
23. Eddie Hoare (St Michael’s)
24. Declan Coyne (Clonbur)
25. Michael Martin (Milltown)
26. Paddy Naughton (Barna)
27. Conor Healy (Salthill-Knocknacarra)
28. Thomas Fahy (Killererin)

New York's Keith Scally Source: New York GAA

Opponents New York have 12 counties represented on their team with six survivors from the side that lost out to Mayo last year in Gavin Joyce, Ronan McGinley, Gerard McCartan, Keith Scally, Ross Wherity and Gary O’Driscoll.

Notable inclusions are ex-Wexford senior PJ Banville in attack while Offaly’s Brian Connor, who missed out last due to work commitments, is back on the panel.

What are they
really like?

Rare insights on sport's biggest names from the writers who know them best. Listen to Behind the Lines podcast.

Become a Member

PJ Banville Wexford's PJ Banville. Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

New York

1. Gavin Joyce (Cavan NY – Ballymartin, Down)

2. Ronan McGinley (Cavan NY – Errigal Ciarán, Tyrone)
3. Gerard McCartan (Kerry NY – Burren, Down)
4. Keith Quinn (Donegal NY – Mayobridge, Down)

5. Brian Gibbons (Kerry NY – Knockmore,Mayo)
6. Keith Scally (Westmeath NY – Tyrrellspass, Westmeath)
7. Colm Maginn (Cavan NY – Drumgath, Down)

8. Andrew Hope (Cavan NY – Lucan Sarsfields, Dublin)
9. Brian Connor (Donegal NY – Walsh Island, Offaly)

10. Ross Wherity (Kerry NY – St Eunan’s, Donegal)
11. Niall McFeely (Donegal NY – Foreglen, Derry)
12. Darren Freeman (Monaghan NY – Clones, Monaghan)

13. JJ Matthews (Longford NY – St Columba’s, Longford)
14. PJ Banville (Donegal NY – Horeswood, Wexford)
15. Gary O’Driscoll (Kerry NY – Skellig Rangers, Kerry)

16. Jer O’Sullivan (Kerry NY – Firies, Kerry)
17. Jason Kelly (Offaly NY – Shannonbridge, Offaly)
18. Johnny McGeeney (Donegal NY – Culloville, Armagh)
19. Eoin McPhillips (Cavan NY – Denn, Cavan)
20. Killian Moynagh (Cavan NY – Drumgoon, Cavan)
21. Eoin Ward (Cavan NY – Carrigallen, Leitrim)
22. David Nation (Longford NY – Nemo Rangers, Cork)
23. Shamus O’Sullivan (Kerry NY – Skellig Rangers, Kerry)
24. Michael Hallissey (Cavan NY – Beaufort, Kerry)
25. Shane Hogan (St Barnabas)
26. Ger McCullagh (Cork NY – Ratoath, Meath)
27. Sean O Neill (Rangers – Ballyhogue, Wexford)

All-Ireland winner Paul Curran among several players cut from the Tipp panel

‘Into the car, out of the car, into training, back into the car for four hours … and you’re in bits’

About the author:

Niall Kelly

Read next: