This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 6 °C Tuesday 11 December, 2018

All-Ireland champions Galway name one debutant as they open Leinster defence

Brian Concannon of Killimordaly makes his first championship start for the Tribesmen.

Concannon: championship debut.
Concannon: championship debut.
Image: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

A FAMILIAR GALWAY side will open their defence of the Leinster senior hurling championship against Offaly in Tullamore on Saturday evening.

Micheál Donoghue has only made two changes to the side which beat Waterford to lift the All-Ireland last September, one of which sees a championship debut for Brian Concannon of Killimordaly at corner-forward.

James Skehill also returns in goal in place of Colm Callanan.

Galway (v Offaly)

1. James Skehill (Cappataggle)

2. Adrian Tuohy (Beagh)
3. Daithi Burke (Turloughmore)
4. John Hanbury (Rahoon/Newcastle)

5. Padraig Mannion (Ahascragh/Fohenagh)
6. Gearoid McInerney (Oranmore/Maree)
7. Aidan Harte (Gort)

8. Johnny Coen (Loughrea)
9. David Burke (capt, St Thomas’)

10. Cathal Mannion (Ahascragh/Fohenagh)
11. Joe Canning (Portumna)
12. Joseph Cooney (Sarsfields)

13. Conor Whelan (Kinvara)
14. Conor Cooney (St Thomas’)
15. Brian Concannon (Killimordaly)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Just one change as Cody names his Kilkenny side for championship opener

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Niall Kelly

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel