David Burke returns for Galway in one of Shefflin's two changes to face Cork

Ronan Glennon comes into the Tribesmen’s attack.

David Burke.
David Burke.
Image: James Crombie/INPHO

GALWAY MANAGER HENRY Shefflin has recalled the Tribesmen’s 2017 All-Ireland-winning captain David Burke to his starting lineup for tomorrow’s All-Ireland quarter-final with Cork in Thurles.

Burke, 32, is one of two changes to the Galway side which disappointed against Kilkenny in the Leinster final earlier this month, the St Thomas’ man replacing Johnny Coen in midfield.

Shefflin’s other change is to introduce Ronan Glennon at half-forward, with Brian Concannon dropping to the bench after a scoreless outing against the Cats last day out.

Cianan Fahy, who successfully appealed a proposed two-match ban for an alleged stamping offence in the Leinster final, retains his starting place at full-forward.

Galway (v Cork)

1. Éanna Murphy (Tommy Larkins)

2. Jack Grealish (Gort), 3. Daithí Burke (Turloughmore, captain), 4. Darren Morrissey (Sarsfields)

5. Gearóid McInerney (Oranmore/Maree), 6. Pádraic Mannion (Ahascragh-Fohenagh), 7. Fintan Burke (St Thomas’)

8. Joseph Cooney (Sarsfields), 9. David Burke (St Thomas’),

What are they
really like?

Rare insights on sport's biggest names from the writers who know them best. Listen to Behind the Lines podcast.

Become a Member

10. Ronan Glennon (Mullagh), 11. Conor Cooney (St Thomas’), 12. Tom Monaghan (Craughwell)

13. Conor Whelan (Kinvara), 14 Cianan Fahy (Ardrahan), 15 Cathal Mannion (Ahascragh-Fohenagh)

Subs: 16. Darach Fahy (Ardrahan), 17. TJ Brennan (Clarinbridge), 18. Johnny Coen (Loughrea), 19. Shane Ryan (Clarinbridge), 20. Sean Linnane (Turloughmore), 21. Brian Concannon (Killimordaly), 22. Kevin Cooney (Sarsfields), 23. Jason Flynn (Tommy Larkins), 24. Evan Niland (Clarinbridge), 25. Gavin Lee (Clarinbridge), 26. Jack Hastings (Liam Mellows).

About the author:

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel