Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 6°C Tuesday 2 March 2021

Here are the latest Galway and Tipperary hurling championship draws

There are eight teams left in the Galway title race and 10 in Tipperary.

Clonoulty-Rossmore were crowned Tipperary senior hurling champions last year.
Clonoulty-Rossmore were crowned Tipperary senior hurling champions last year.
Image: Ken Sutton/INPHO

THE PICTURE HAS become clearer in the respective Galway and Tipperary hurling title races after today’s club championship action in both counties.

Reigning Tipperary champions Clonoulty-Rossmore are back in contention to defend their crown after they won the western divisional final today in the county.

The 3-13 to 1-15 replay victory over Éire Óg Annacarty places them in the preliminary quarter-final stage of the county championship where they were drawn this evening against Loughmore-Castleiney.

The other preliminary quarter-final next weekend will see Mullinahone, winners of the south divisional title, take on Toomevara with the victors of those two ties progressing to the quarter-finals.

The other divisional finals in Tipperary today saw Drom-Inch win the Mid decider after extra-time by 2-19 to 1-21 against Upperchurch-Drombane while Kiladangan lifted the North title with a 2-13 to 1-8 success over Borris-Ileigh.

Tipperary SHC quarter-finals

  • Seeded – Kiladangan, Borris-Ileigh, Nenagh Éire Óg, Kilruane MacDonaghs.
  • Unseeded – Drom-Inch, Éire Óg Annacarthy, Loughmore-Castleiney/Clonoulty-Rossmore, Mullinahone/Toomevara.

The last eight draw was made in Galway this evening after the completion of the preliminary quarter-final ties. Cappataggle, Craughwell and Tommie Larkin won today’s fixtures.

2017 champions Liam Mellows advanced to the last eight to take on Sarsfields with their victory yesterday while current title holders St Thomas will face Tommie Larkins.

Galway SHC quarter-final draw

  • Turloughmore v Craughwell
  • St Thomas v Tommie Larkins
  • Loughrea v Cappataggle
  • Sarsfields v Liam Mellows

Elsewhere today Dunloy were crowned Antrim senior hurling champions, Slaughtneil won the hurling decider in Derry and Ballycran triumphed in the Down final.


Antrim SHC final
Dunloy 3-16 Cushendall 2-15

Be part
of the team

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership.

Become a Member

Derry SHC final
Slaughtneil 1-23 Kevin Lynch 2-12

Down SHC final
Ballycran 1-20 Portaferry 1-13

Galway SHC preliminary quarter-finals
Tommie Larkins 1-19 Athenry 0-15
Craughwell 1-17 Tynagh-Abbey-Duniry 0-16
Cappataggle 0-22 Clarinbridge 1-16

Kilkenny SHC first round replay
Mullinavat 1-18 Graigue-Ballycallan 1-13


Mid final
Drom-Inch 2-19 Upperchurch-Drombane 1-21 (after extra-time)

North final
Kiladangan 2-13 Borris-Ileigh 1-8

West final replay
Clonoulty-Rossmore 3-13 Éire Óg Annacarty 1-15

Westmeath SHC semi-finals
Castletown Geoghegan 2-22 Lough Lene Gaels 1-10
Clonkill 1-15 Raharney 0-15

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel