Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 10°C Friday 16 April 2021

Joe Canning scores 1-11 but Bubbles rescues draw as Tipperary and Galway still in relegation battle

No separating the teams in Pearse Stadium.

Galway 2-19
Tipperary 1-22

Ciarán McGreal reports from Pearse Stadium

JOE CANNING HELPED himself to 1-11 but it wasn’t enough as a last minute point from John O’Dwyer earned Tipperary a draw in a pulsating match in Pearse Stadium.

Joe Canning with referee James Owens after the game Galway's Joe Canning with referee James Owens after today's game Source: Mike Shaughnessy/INPHO

Canning looked to have won it with a brilliant point from a sideline but O’Dwyer had the final say to level it in this Allianz Division 1A hurling league encounter.

The result means either Tipperary or Galway next Sunday will claim the last league quarter-final spot on offer in Division 1A and the other will face into a relegation final against Cork.

Tipperary got the perfect start through Niall O’Meara’s third minute goal and they led 1-9 to 0-5 after 28 minutes but Canning’s goal two minutes into injury time kept Galway in contention.

Iarla Tannian and Niall O'Meara Galway and Tipperary players battle for possession. Source: Mike Shaughnessy/INPHO

The Portumna man shrugged off the challenge of Ronan Maher before burying the ball into the top corner of Darren Gleeson’s net. A pointed free from Canning a moment later meant Galway were just a point behind at the break with Tipperary leading 1-10 to 1-9.

Tannian drove a low shot past Gleeson in the 42nd minute to grab Galway’s second goal but Tipperary stayed in the hunt with John McGrath accurate from placed balls.

The game was in the melting point until the very end with the teams exchanging scores and cancelling each other out.

David Burke and Kieran Bergin Galway's Dvaid Burke and Tipperary's Kieran Bergin Source: Mike Shaughnessy/INPHO

Canning thought he’d claimed Galway’s second league win of the campaign before O’Dwyer ensured the spoils were shared.

Scorers for Galway: Joe Canning 1-11 (0-8f, 0-1 s-l), Niall Burke 0-4, Jason Flynn 0-3, Iarla Tannian 1-0, Davy Glennon 0-1.

Scorers for Tipperary: John McGrath 0-6 (0-5f), Niall O’Meara 1-0, Michael Breen 0-3, Noel McGrath 0-3, Brendan Maher 0-2, Adrian Ryan 0-2, John O’Dwyer 0-2, Daire Quinn 0-1, Cathal Barrett 0-1, Padraic Maher 0-1, Barry Heffernan 0-1.

Micahel Breen and Davy Glennon Tipperary's Michael Breen and Galway's Davy Glennon fight for possession Source: Mike Shaughnessy/INPHO


1. James Skehill (Cappatagle

2. Paul Hoban (Loughrea)
24. Andy Smith (Portumna)
4. Fergal Moore (Turloughmore)

5. Gearóid McInerney (Oranmore-Maree)
6. Daithí Burke (Turloughmore)
7. Aidan Harte (Gort)

8. David Burke (St Thomas’)
9. Iarla Tannian (Ardrahan)

10. Conor Whelan (Kinvara)
11. Niall Burke (Oranmore-Maree)
12. Davy Glennon (Mullagh)

13. Cathal Mannion (Ahascragh-Fohenagh)
14. Joe Canning (Portumna)
15. Jason Flynn (Tommy Larkin’s)

25 Richie Cummins (Gort) for Tannian (54)
22. Eanna Burke (St Thomas’) for Whelan (61)
23. Padraig Brehony (Tynagh-Abbey/Duniry) for Smith (63)


1. Darren Gleeson (Portroe)

2. Cathal Barrett (Holycross-Ballycahill)
3. Tomas Hamill (Moyne Templetuohy)
4. Michael Cahill (Thurles Sarsfields)

5. Barry Heffernan (Nenagh Éire Óg)
6. Ronan Maher (Thurles Sarsfields)
7. Padraic Maher (Thurles Sarsfields)

8. Brendan Maher (Borris-Ileigh)
9. Michael Breen (Ballina)

10. Noel McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney)
11. Kieran Bergin (Killenaule)
19. Dan McCormack (Borris-Ileigh)

13. Adrian Ryan (Templederry Kenyons)
14. John McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney)
15. Niall O’Meara (Kilruane MacDonaghs)

22. Conor O’Brien (Éire Óg Annacarty) for Cahill (24)
18. Conor Kenny (Borris-Ileigh) for Bergin (half time)
23. John O’Dwyer (Killenaule) for McCormack (half time)
24. Daire Quinn (Nenagh Éire Óg) for Kenny (58)

Referee: James Owens (Wexford)

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

Dublin bring Waterford’s 11-game league winning run to an end and book quarter-final spot

Clare claim 22-point win over Kerry as Podge Collins makes inter-county hurling return

About the author:

The42 Team

Read next: