This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 11 °C Friday 5 June, 2020

3 Galway seniors in U21 team for repeat of last year's Connacht final

Enda Tierney, Eamonn Brannigan and Paul Mannion will all feature against Roscommon.

Enda Tierney will captain the side.
Enda Tierney will captain the side.
Image: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

GALWAY HAVE NAMED their team for Friday’s Connacht U21 football championship clash with holders Roscommon in Kiltoom.

Three senior players are included in the Tribesmen’s side with Enda Tierney, Eamonn Brannigan and Paul Mannion all set to start the game.

The trio have all featured in Galway’s recent Allianz League campaign and will bolster the away side as they look to avenge last year’s defeat to Roscommon in the final.

Oughterard’s half-back Tierney captains the side.

The two counties have won the last six Connacht U21 provincial titles between them and they served up a classic 12 months ago in Tuam with the Rossies coming out 3-14 to 3-11 winners.

Throw-in on Friday is at 7.30pm.


1. Tadhg O’Malley (Lettermore)

2. Luke Burke (Caltra)
3. Oisin Canney (Clonbur)
4. Rory Green (Killanin)

5. Kieran Molloy (Corofin)
6. Enda Tierney (Oughterard)
7. Brian Shaughnessy (Ballinasloe)

8. Michael Daly (Mount/Moylough)
9. Peter Cooke (Maigh Chuilinn)

10. Jason Lyons (Barna)
11. Eamonn Brannigan (St Michael’s)
12 Paul Mannion (Kilconly)

13. Antaine Ó Laoi (An Spideal)
14. Eoin Finnerty (Mount/Moylough)
15. Colm Mannion (Mount/Moylough)

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

‘You can’t even have a Lucozade on a Friday night without being questioned’

Poll: Who do you think will win this year’s Munster U21 football championship?

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Ryan Bailey

Read next: