Dublin: 14°C Sunday 22 May 2022

Galway, Waterford and Kilkenny name teams ahead of Sunday hurling league ties

Pearse Stadium hosts the meeting of Galway and Waterford.

Joe Canning will be in action against Waterford on Sunday.
Joe Canning will be in action against Waterford on Sunday.
Image: Tommy Dickson/INPHO

WATERFORD HAVE MADE three changes for Sunday’s hurling league clash with Galway. 

Shaun O’Brien comes in to start in goal, Shane McNulty is named at left corner-back and Neil Montgomery is selected at right half-forward.

Billy Nolan, Iarlaith Daly and Jack Fagan are the three Deise players to make way.

Galway have made six changes, as they draft in Shane Cooney, Gearoid McInerney and Fintan Burke to their defence. Cathal Mannion and Sean Loftus both come in to the half-forward line.

Throw-in time at Pearse Stadium on Sunday is 3.45pm.

Brian Cody has made six changes to his Kilkenny team for their clash with Laois on Sunday. Joey Holden and Michael Carey are brought in to the defence while Conor Fogarty is selected at midfield.

The attacking additions are Martin Keoghan, Liam Blanchfield and Eoin Cody.


1. Shaun O’Brien (De La Salle)

2. Conor Gleeson (Fourmilewater), 3. Conor Prunty (Abbeyside), 4. Shane McNulty (De La Salle).

5. Calum Lyons (Ballyduff Lower), 6. Austin Gleeson (Mount Sion), 7. Seamus Keating (Ardmore).

8. Jamie Barron (Fourmilewater), 9. Jake Dillon (De La Salle).

10. Neil Montgomery (Abbeyside), 11. Shane Bennett (Ballysaggart), 12. Kieran Bennett (Ballysaggart).

13. Dessie Hutchinson (Ballygunner), 14. Stephen Bennett (Ballysaggart), 15. Jack Prendergast (Lismore).


1. Eanna Murphy (Tommie Larkins)

2. Shane Cooney (St Thomas), 3. Daithi Burke (Turloughmore), 4. Darren Morrissey (Sarsfields).

5. Padraic Mannion (Ahascragh-Fohenagh), 6. Gearoid McInerney (Oranmore-Maree), 7. Fintan Burke (St Thomas).

8. Johnny Coen (Loughrea), 9. Joe Canning (Portumna),


Get closer to the stories that matter with exclusive analysis, insight and debate in The42 Membership.

Become a Member

10. Adrian Tuohey (Beagh), 11. Cathal Mannion (Ahascragh-Fohenagh), 12. Sean Loftus (Turloughmor). 

13. Conor Whelan (Kinvara), 14. Conor Cooney (St Thomas), 15. Brian Concannon (Killimordaly).


1. Eoin Murphy (Glenmore)

2. Tommy Walsh (Tullaroan), 3. Joey Holden (Shamrocks Ballyhale), 4. Paddy Deegan (O’Loughlin Gaels).

5. Darragh Corcoran (Shamrocks Ballyhale), 6. Huw Lawlor (O’Loughlin Gaels), 7. Michael Carey (Young Irelands).

8. Richie Reid (Shamrocks Ballyhale), 9. Conor Fogarty (Erins Own).

10. Adrian Mullen (Shamrocks Ballyhale), 11. Martin Keoghan (Tullaroan), 12. Billy Ryan (Graigue-Ballycallan).

13. James Bergin (Conahy Shamrocks), 14. Liam Blanchfield (Bennettsbridge), 15. Eoin Cody (Shamrocks Ballyhale).

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel