This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 7 °C Friday 15 November, 2019

Galway and Kilkenny All-Ireland winners in Dublin hurling panel for 2017 Walsh Cup opener

Dublin take on Carlow in their first pre-season game tonight in Parnell Park.

A GALWAY ALL-Ireland U21 winner and a Kilkenny All-Ireland minor winner are part of the Dublin hurling squad for their 2017 opener in the Walsh Cup tonight.

Ger Cunningham Dublin hurling manager Ger Cunningham

Midfielder Donie Fox, a 2011 U21 winner with the Tribesmen, and attacker Canice Maher, a 2008 minor victor with the Cats, have both been given the chance to impress for Dublin by manager Ger Cunningham.

The duo both transferred to the St Judes club last year with Maher playing for Dublin and Fox lining out for the Dubs Stars in the annual New Years Day challenge last Sunday.

Tomás Connolly, brother of Dublin senior football star Diarmuid, is also involved while last year’s Leinster U21 winners Jonathan Tracey, Mark McCallion and Chris Bennett are also involved.

Throw-in for tonight’s game between Dublin and Carlow is 7.30pm

Johnathan Treacy Dublin U21 hurling goalkeeper Jonathan Treacy Source: James Crombie/INPHO


1. Jonathan Tracey – Na Fianna
2. Darragh Gray – Whitehall Colmcille
3. Shane Barrett – Na Fianna
4. Fionn Ó Riain Broin – St. Judes
5. Matthew McCaffrey – Lucan Sarsfields
6. Chris Crummey – Lucan Sarsfields
7. Sean McGrath – Kilmacud Crokes
8. Liam Rushe – St. Patrick’s Palmerstown
9. Donie Fox – St. Judes
10. Conor Burke – St. Vincents
11. Tomás Connolly – St. Vincents
12. Fionntain McGibb – Setanta
13. Canice Maher – St. Judes
14. Donal Burke – Na Fianna
15. Cian O’Sullivan – St. Brigids
16. Gary Maguire – Ballyboden St. Enda’s
17. Paddy Smyth – Clontarf
18. Mark McCallion – Kilmacud Crokes
19. Mark Kavanagh – St. Brigids
20. Ciaran Dowling – Lucan Sarsfields
21. Ben Quinn – Crumlin
22. Fergal Whitely – Kilmacud Crokes
23. Caolan Conway – Kilmacud Crokes
24. Niall McMorrow – Ballyboden St. Enda’s
25. Johnny McGuirk – St. Brigids
26. Alan Moore – St. Vincents
27. Sean Ó Riain – Setanta
28. Alex Quinn – Crumlin
29. James Holland – Ballyboden St. Enda’s
30. Chris Bennett – Faughs

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Eyes peeled! 13 young Gaelic footballers to watch in 2017

The 2017 GAA pre-season kicks off this week and there’s 30 games to get stuck into

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: