Kilkenny's Glenmore hold off Derry's Eoghan Rua to win All-Ireland title

Two goals from Alan Murphy were key for the Kilkenny club’s victory.

Ger Aylward (right) in crutches with his Glenmore teammates as they celebrate their All-Ireland win in Croke Park today.
Ger Aylward (right) in crutches with his Glenmore teammates as they celebrate their All-Ireland win in Croke Park today.
Image: Donall Farmer/INPHO

Glenmore (Kilkenny) 2-8
Eoghan Rua (Derry) 0-12

Paul Keane reports from Croke Park

FULL-FORWARD ALAN Murphy did the damage with 2-2 as former senior champions Glenmore claimed the AIB All-Ireland junior hurling crown this afternoon.

The 1991 senior winners were missing captain and Kilkenny star Ger Aylward through injury but battled on at Croke Park to claim the title for the first time.

Murphy’s two first-half goals laid the platform for the success and separated the teams at half-time when Glenmore led by 2-6 to 0-6.

Kilkenny senior goalkeeper Eoin Murphy started in attack for his club and was also on the score sheet early on while Richie Mullally, another experienced county man, played at centre-back.

Derry outfit Coleraine are best known as a football club and had five McGoldrick brothers in their line-up. They looked as if they’d be blown out of the water after 18 minutes when they trailed 2-5 to 0-2.

Eoghan Rua and Glemore players battle for the ball No shortage of players battling for the ball here. Source: Donall Farmer/INPHO

Goalscorer Murphy beat his man, full-back Liam McGoldrick, on both occasions for goals and Glenmore were purring.

But Coleraine outscored Glenmore by four points to one in the remainder of the half to give themselves some hope.

Colm McGoldrick dejected at the end of the game Eoghan Rua's Colm McGoldrick dejected at the end of the game. Source: Donall Farmer/INPHO

And it was a genuine contest again early in the second-half when Coleraine cut the gap to three by the 37th minute, 2-6 to 0-9.

Glenmore were still just three ahead with 10 minutes to go and the gap was down to two entering injury-time when Ciaran Gaile scored his seventh point from a free for Coleraine but Glenmore just about held on.

Scorers for Glenmore: Alan Murphy 2-2, Mark Aylward 0-4 (0-4f), Eoin Murphy and Shane Murphy 0-1 each.

Scorers for Eoghan Rua, Coleraine: Ciaran Gaile 0-7 (0-7f), Sean Leo McGoldrick 0-2, Liam McGoldrick, Colm McGoldrick and Thomas Magee 0-1 each.


1. David Aylward

Gavin Cooney
Reports From Qatar

Get Gavin's exclusive writing and analysis from the 2022 Fifa World Cup

Become a Member

2. Sean Duggan
3. Fergal Freyne
4. Shane Doherty

5. Philip Roche
6. Richard Mullally
7. Mark Phelan

8. Shane Murphy
17. Darren Aylward

13. James Cody
10. Eoin Murphy
12. Emmet Vereker

14. Alan Murphy
11. Michael Phelan
15. Mark Aylward

18. Liam Hennessy for Darren Aylward (h/t)
20. Ben Doherty for Phelan (53)
26. Dean Croke for Shane Murphy (62)

Eoghan Rua Coleraine

1. Patrick Mullan

4. Ciaran Lagan
6. Barry McGoldrick
3. Liam McGoldrick

5. Anton Rafferty
7. Niall Holly
2. Pearse Dallas

11. Sean Leo McGoldrick
8. Ruaidhri Leonard

12. Ciaran Gaile
10. Ruairi Mooney
13. Declan Mullan

15. Ciaran McGoldrick
14. Colm McGoldrick
9. Thomas Magee

Referee: James Clarke (Cavan)

Kilkenny’s Bennettsbridge claim second All-Ireland club title in 12 months

Fox goal proves the winner as Tipperary hold off Clare challenge

About the author:

Paul Keane

Read next: