Liverpool defender Alexander-Arnold makes shortlist for best young footballer in the world prize

Having scooped the Gold Boy award in 2017, PSG superstar Kylian Mbappe is favourite to win it back-to-back.

Nominees: Mbappe and Alexander-Arnold.
Nominees: Mbappe and Alexander-Arnold.
Image: Press Association

KYLIAN MBAPPE COULD become the first player to secure the Golden Boy award twice after he was included on a 40-man shortlist for this year’s prize.

The Paris Saint-Germain forward was crowned in 2017 and has since played a starring role for France at the World Cup, scoring in the final against Croatia to help Les Bleus lift the trophy in Russia.

Liverpool full-back Trent Alexander-Arnold, who helped his club reach the Champions League final, is one of four from the Premier League in the running to be crowned the best young player under the age of 21.

Manchester City’s Phil Foden and Everton’s Tom Davies have been selected too, along with Diogo Dalot, the Portuguese full-back who signed for Manchester United from Porto in June.

Real Madrid new boy Vinicius Junior, Borussia Dortmund’s Christian Pulisic and Netherlands winger Justin Kluivert — who moved from Ajax to Roma in the last transfer window — are also in contention.

Established by Italian newspaper Tuttosport, the award is voted for by a jury made up of journalists from across Europe.

Previous winners include Mbappe’s compatriots Anthony Martial and Paul Pogba, while Lionel Messi won in it in 2005.

Here’s the 2018 shortlist: 

  • Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool)
  • Kelvin Amian (Toulouse)
  •  Houssem Aouar (Lyon)
  • Musa Barrow (Atalanta)
  • Justin Bijlow (Feyenoord)
  • Josip Brekalo (Wolfsburg)
  • Patrick Cutrone (AC Milan)
  • Dani Olmo (Dinamo Zagreb)
  • Tom Davies (Everton)
  •  Matthijs De Ligt (Ajax)
  •  Moussa Diaby (PSG)
  •  Diogo Dalot (Manchester United)
  •  Moussa Djenepo (Standard Liege)
  •  Ritsu Doan (Groningen)
  • Eder Militao (Porto)
  • Odsonne Edouard (Celtic)
  • Evander (Midtjylland)
  •  Phil Foden (Manchester City)
  • Achraf Hakimi (Borussia Dortmund)
  • Amadou Haidara (Red Bull Salzburg)
  • Joao Felix (Benfica); Jota (Benfica)
  • Jovane Cabral (Sporting CP)
  • Dejan Joveljic (Red Star Belgrade)
  • Boubacar Kamara (Marseille)
  • Moise Kean (Juventus)
  • Jules Keita (Dijon)
  • Justin Kluivert (Roma)
  • Alban Lafont (Fiorentina)
  • Manu Garcia (Toulouse)
  • Kylian Mbappé (PSG)
  • Pietro Pellegri (Monaco)
  • Christian Pulisic (Borussia Dortmund)
  • Marcelo Saracchi (RB Leipzig)
  • Ismaila Sarr (Rennes)
  • Dayot Upamecano (RB Leipzig)
  • Vinicius Junior (Real Madrid)
  • Moussa Wagué (Barcelona)
  • Timothy Weah (PSG)
  • Nicolo Zaniolo (Roma)

What are they
really like?

Rare insights on sport's biggest names from the writers who know them best. Listen to Behind the Lines podcast.

Become a Member

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

About the author:

The42 Team

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel