Dublin: 12°C Saturday 25 June 2022

Aidan Harte leads Gort to another Galway hurling decider in tight replay

Beaten finalists Gort in 2016, Gort advanced to another Galway senior hurling championship decider.

Aidan Harte starred as Gort saw off the challenge of Craughwell.
Aidan Harte starred as Gort saw off the challenge of Craughwell.
Image: James Crombie/INPHO

Gort 1-17

Craughwell 1-15

Galway Senior Hurling Championship semi-final

ALL-IRELAND WINNER Aidan Harte shot 1-4 as last year’s beaten finalists Gort advanced to another Galway senior hurling championship decider with victory over Craughwell in a replay at Kenny Park in Athenry.

The first game finished in a 1-10 to 0-13 draw after Greg Lally landed a late leveller for Gort last Sunday.

And it’s Michael Browne’s side who will face Liam Mellows in the final, after they led 1-8 to 1-7 at half-time with Harte’s goal cancelling out the effort from Shane Dolan.

Craughwell began well but after a few early scores from Stephen Hynes and Niall Healy (two), Gort took over and late replacement Aidan Helebert tapped over his first free in the seventh minute. By the time he scored his third free, and four point of the day, Gort assumed a 0-5 to 0-4 advantage in the 15th minute.

Shane Dolan hit back, and Helebert and Niall Healy traded scores before Dolan scored the Craughwell goal in the 28th minute. Niall Callanan made a scorching run before gifting Dolan the opportunity, and the Craughwell corner-forward rifled the past Gavin Lally.

It was 1-6 to 0-6 as the game moved into four minutes of injury-time but then Harte took over, and hit a stunning 1-2 before the break. His goal came in the 32nd minute, two minutes after his first point, and despite Thomas Monaghan’s late score Gort held a 1-8 to 1-7 lead at the interval.

When Jason Grealish scored his first point, Gort were three points up with just over 15 minutes of normal time remaining. And Craughwell could not overturn the deficit late on.

Scorers for Gort: A Harte 1-4, Aidan Helebert 0-6 (0-5f), Greg Lally 0-2 (0-2f), Jamie Ryan 0-1, Kaelen Higgins 0-1, Richie Cummins 0-1, Albert Mullins 0-1, Jason Grealish 0-1.

Scorers for Craughwell: Niall Healy 0-10 (0-7f, 0-1 65), Shane Dolan 1-1, Thomas Monaghan 0-2, Stephen Hynes 0-1, Alan Callanan 0-1.


1. Gavin Lally

2. Michael Cummins
3. Mark McMahon
17. Andy Coen

5. Pakie Lally
6. Greg Lally
7. Sylvie Og Linnane

8. Jack Grealish
9. Kaelen Higgins

10. Albert Mullins
11. Aidan Harte
12. Michael Mullins

13. Richard Cummins
18. Aiden Helebert
15. Jason Geralish

4. Niall Forde for Cummins (half-time)
14. Paul Killilea for Jason Grealish (54)
19. Jack Commins for Albert Mullins (59)


1. Aidan Ryan

Exclusive NZ - IRE
Rugby Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella's match analysis and Garry Doyle's updates from New Zealand exclusive to members

Become a Member

2. Ger O’Halloran
3. Ian Daniels
4. Mark Monaghan

5. Andrew Greaney
6. Adrian Cummins
7. Stephen Hynes

8. Niall Callanan
23. Niall Donoghue

19. James Greaney
11. Mark Horan
12. Thomas Monaghan

13. Shane Dolan
14. Niall Healy
15. Jamie Ryan

21. Alan Callanan for Donoghue (42)
25. Cian Larkin for Ryan (53)
20. Keelan Cullinan for N Callanan (50).

Referee: Leonard Fay (Athenry).

The42 has just published its first book, Behind The Lines, a collection of some of the year’s best sports stories. Pick up your copy in Eason’s, or order it here today (€10):

One club can’t stop winning in Munster, the other craves a senior hurling breakthrough

The two neighbouring Monaghan clubs gunning for All-Ireland final spots at the exact same time

About the author:

Daragh Small

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel