Dublin: 13°C Friday 20 May 2022

Kerry school St Brendan's retain All-Ireland colleges title with commanding eight-point victory

David Shaw bagged four points for the victors.

St Brendan’s, Killarney (Kerry) 0-18

St Peter’s College (Wexford) 0-10

Kevin O’Brien reports from Croke Park

ST BRENDAN’S, KILLARNEY retained their Hogan Cup title and claimed a fourth overall with an eight-point victory over St Peter’s in Croke Park.

Dara Moynihan of St. Brendan's lifts the cup Source: Lorraine O'Sullivan/INPHO

Kerry have dominated the landscape in the All-Ireland minor championships in recent years and it’s no coincidence that sides from the Kingdom have ruled this competition for the past few years.

Pobalscoil Chorca Dhuibhne lifted the title in 2014 and ’15, meaning Kerry sides have won the last four Hogan Cup titles – a sure sign that Gaelic football is in rude health the Kingdom.

Garry McGrath’s side were full value for the win, which never looked in doubt. A free-flowing St Brendan’s attack continued its fine vein of scoring form and they were in complete control at half-time, leading by 0-10 to 0-3.

The Wexford school rallied after the break and found themselves just four points in arrears with 10 minutes remaining. St Brendan’s put the foot on the accelerator and eased home with an eight-point margin.

Conor Firman and Donnchadh O'Sullivan Source: Lorraine O'Sullivan/INPHO

Cathal Devereux and Michael Potts Source: Lorraine O'Sullivan/INPHO

It may have taken him 26 minutes to add his name to the scoresheet, but star forward David Shaw finished up with four points from play, as did the outstanding Donnchadh O’Sullivan.

Billy Courtney, who lined out in goals for Kerry’s latest All-Ireland minor victory, was instrumental from midfielder and fired over four dead balls to underline his class.

The Killarney school enjoyed a fine start to the game and raced into an 0-6 to 0-1 lead after the opening 17 minutes, as Dara Moynihan, Donnchadh O’Sullivan, Mark O’Shea and Ciaran Flynn all hit the target from play.

Barry O’Connor did his best to keep St Peter’s in touch with two good scores, but St Brendan’s were finding scores far easier to come by.

A general view of play Source: Lorraine O'Sullivan/INPHO

It took danger man Shaw almost the entire half to open his tally, but he bagged a second point minutes later as half-time approached.

Cousins Rory and Barry O’Connor sent over three scores between them as St Peter’s came out fighting after the restart. Shaw, Courtney (free) and O’Sullivan responded for St Brendan’s in quick succession to stretch their lead to eight points once again.

But the Leinster champions weren’t done yet. They hit the next four points, including three from Cathal Devereux to bring them within four.

Sensing danger, St Brendan’s reeled off the final four scores through Courtney, Micheal Devlin, Shaw and Moynihan to put the icing on the cake.

Scorers for St Brendan’s: David Shaw 0-4, Billy Courtney 0-4 (0-3f, 0-1 45), Donnchadh O’Sullivan 0-4, Dara Moynihan 0-2, Mark O’Shea, Ciaran Flynn, Jack Griffin and Micheal Devlin 0-1 each.

Scorers for St Peter’s: Barry O’Connor 0-5 (0-1f), Cathal Devereux 0-4 (0-3f), Rory O’Connor 0-1.


Get closer to the stories that matter with exclusive analysis, insight and debate in The42 Membership.

Become a Member

St Brendan’s, Killarney

1. Robert Osborne (Killarney Legion)

2. Lorcan McMonagle (Dr Crokes)
3. Chris O’Donoghue (Glenfesk)
4. Sean O’Leary (Kilcummin)

5. Jack Griffin (Dr Crokes)
6. Michael Potts (Dr Crokes)
7. Niall Donohue (Firies)

8. Billy Courtney (Dr Crokes)
9. Cian Gammell (Killarney Legion)

10. Dara Moynihan (Spa)
11. Donnchadh O’Sullivan (Firies)
12. Barry Keane (Listry)

13. David Shaw (Dr Crokes)
14. Mark O’Shea (Dr Crokes)
15. Ciaran Flynn (Firies)

Subs: 20. Micheal Devlin for Ciaran Flynn (44), Barry Slattery for Chris O’Donoghue (blood sub, 52 – 59), Mark Harnett for Barry Keane (55), Evan Cosgrove for Jack Griffin (61), Niall McCarthy for Mark O’Shea (62), Diarmuid Brosnan for Lorcan McMonagle (63).

St Peter’s College

1. Richard Ryan (Glynn-Barntown)

2. Eoin O’Leary (St Martin’s)
3. Ben Maddock (St Martin’s)
4. David O’Keeffe (Taghmon-Camross)

5. Quinn Saunders (Our Lady’s Island)
6. Conor Firman (St Martin’s)
7. Finn O’Driscoll (St Anne’s)

8. Brian Deeney (St John’s Volunteers)
9. Rory O’Connor (St Martin’s)

10. Dylan Furlong (Sarsfields)
11. Ben Moore (St Anne’s)
12. Peter Barry (St Martin’s)

13. David Gouldson (Sarsfields)
14. Barry O’Connor (St Martin’s)
15. Cathal Deverux (Our Lady’s Island)

Subs: 17. Michael Codd for Ben Maddock (blood sub, 17 – 22), 18. Dylan Lyne for David Gouldson (ht), Jack Devereux for Peter Barry (57), Michael Codd for Finn O’Driscoll (58), Aaron Breen for Dylan Furlong (62).

Referee: Sean Hurson (Tyrone)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Tipp footballer injured in club game…two days before Division 3 promotion clash

All-Ireland club hurling winner goes up against familiar Leinster rugby faces today

About the author:

Kevin O'Brien

Read next: