This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
OK
Dublin: 7 °C Tuesday 26 March, 2019
Advertisement

Iain Henderson avoids ban having been cited for incident against Ospreys

The Ulster forward is free to play in Ireland’s remaining Six Nations fixtures.

IAIN HENDERSON HAS escaped a suspension having been cited for an incident during last Friday’s Pro14 clash between Ulster and Ospreys. 

It was announced yesterday that Henderson had been cited for a dangerous clearout in the 15th minute of last Friday’s win against the Welsh side, in which he appeared to neckroll Ospreys’ Sam Cross. 

Following a hearing today in Edinburgh – which Henderson followed via video link – it was ruled that the incident warranted a yellow card, rather than a red. It was therefore decided that Henderson shouldn’t serve a suspension, and will be free to play for Ireland against Italy in the Six Nations this weekend. 

Henderson is part of the Irish party travelling to Rome, having missed the opening two rounds of the championship through injury. 

Subscribe to our new podcast, The42 Rugby Weekly, here:

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

About the author:

Gavin Cooney

Read next:

COMMENTS (22)

This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel