Irish Aussie Rules panel named for European title bid in Dublin

The hosts will be the favourites for the DCU-based tournament.

THE IRISH SQUAD for the upcoming 2013 AFL Europe Championship has been announced.

The tournament is to be held at DCU’s Sportsgrounds from Thursday until 10 August.

The championship will see six teams — Ireland, Great Britain, Denmark, Sweden, Germany & Croatia — battle it out for the biggest AFL title outside of Australia.

The last AFL Europe Championship was won by Ireland in 2010 in Sweden and Denmark. The 22 Irish players selected to represent their country this year will once again be favourites to retain the cup:

Ireland: Eoin O Suilleabhin, James Flavin, Brendan Kelly, Mark Leavy, John O’Regan, Conor O’Halloran, Tom Browne, Kevin McSorley, Sean Paul Henry, Dominic Joyce, John Enright, Gerard Lenihan, Brian Roche, Benny McDevitt, Vince Manning, Ger Walls, Muiris Bartley, David Miller, Paul Redmond, Sean McMahon, Sean Fallon, Ryan McCloskey, Brian O’Connell, Paul O’Halloran, Shane Liddy, Bobby Byrne.

More information and tickets are available at The tournament will be streamed live on on match days.

Dublin confident they can match Vodafone payday in new sponsorship deal

Your Voice
Readers Comments
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.