Saturday 28 January 2023 Dublin: 4°C
# Who's in?
These are the 23 players who are going to Euro 2016 with Ireland
Robbie, Westwood and Murphy make the cut but disappointment for Forde, Arter and others.

ROBBIE KEANE HAS been named in the Ireland squad for Euro 2016 as Martin O’Neill whittled his panel down to the final 23.

Record goalscorer Keane, 35, will travel to a third major tournament despite ongoing concerns about the calf injury which ruled him out of this evening’s defeat to Belarus.

O’Neill named his final squad just minutes before the official 11pm deadline for submitting it to Uefa.

Kieran Westwood, David Meyler, Aiden McGeady, Stephen Quinn and Daryl Murphy also make the final cut for France.

But there was disappointment for David Forde, Darron Gibson, Eunan O’Kane, Harry Arter, Callum O’Dowda and David McGoldrick.

Bournemouth’s Arter was arguably the most unlucky of the lot after impressing with a man of the match performance in Friday’s 1-1 draw against the Netherlands.

But he pulled up in training yesterday with a thigh problem and flew back to England for assessment before O’Neill made his final call.

James McCarthy who, along with Keane, did not feature in either warm-up match due to injury is also included, with O’Neill reporting that the Everton midfielder’s condition improved on Tuesday.

As named, the squad includes three goalkeepers, eight defenders, nine midfielders and three strikers.

Sheffield Wednesday stopper Westwood gets the nod as the third keeper ahead of Forde, who started the qualification campaign as Ireland’s number one.

After impressing against the Netherlands on only his third senior appearance, Blackburn’s Shane Duffy is included among the defensive options while McGeady gets the nod as one of the wide options in midfield despite his recent struggles at club level.

Up front Murphy, who has yet to score a senior goal in 21 caps, is preferred to his Ipswich strike-partner McGoldrick.

Exclusive Six
Nations Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella’s exclusive analysis of Ireland’s Six Nations campaign this spring

Become a Member

Ireland Euro 2016 Squad


  • Shay Given
  • Darren Randolph
  • Kieren Westwood


  • Cyrus Christie
  • Seamus Coleman
  • Richard Keogh
  • Shane Duffy
  • John O’Shea
  • Ciaran Clark
  • Stephen Ward
  • Robbie Brady


  • Aiden McGeady
  • David Meyler
  • Jeff Hendrick
  • Stephen Quinn
  • James McCarthy
  • Glenn Whelan
  • Jon Walters
  • Wes Hoolahan
  • James McClean


  • Daryl Murphy
  • Shane Long
  • Robbie Keane

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

Belarus spoil Ireland’s Euro 2016 send-off in Cork

Player ratings: How the Boys in Green fared against Belarus tonight