Tuesday 7 February 2023 Dublin: 7°C
# 6 Nations
It wasn't easy, but we found space for a few non-Grand Slam winners in our Team of the Championship
Who is a must-have in your best XV of the past 15 matches?

A LONE ITALIAN, two Scots, two Welshmen and two stand-out Englishmen have forced their way in among eight Grand Slam champions in our thinking for team of the tournament.

There were tough calls along the way, and there are at least seven more Irish players who are unlucky to miss out, but here’s the squad we’ve come up with before the snow settles on the 2018 Championship.

The42′s Six Nations Team of the Championship

15. Matteo Minozzi (Italy)

Six Nations Rugby / YouTube

14. Keith Earls (Ireland)

Six Nations Rugby / YouTube

13. Huw Jones (Scotland)

Six Nations Rugby / YouTube

12. Owen Farrell (England)

France v England - NatWest Six Nations Shaun Botterill Shaun Botterill

11. Jacob Stockdale (Ireland)

England v Ireland - NatWest Six Nations Craig Mercer - CameraSport Craig Mercer - CameraSport

10. Johnny Sexton (Ireland)

Six Nations Rugby / YouTube

9. Conor Murray (Ireland)

2018 NatWest Six Nations Rugby England v Ireland Mar 17th Tim Williams Tim Williams

1. Mako Vunipola (England)

France v England - NatWest Six Nations Getty Images Getty Images

2. Rory Best (Ireland)

Rory Best celebrates winning Dan Sheridan / INPHO Dan Sheridan / INPHO / INPHO

3. Tadhg Furlong (Ireland)

furlong hands

Exclusive Six
Nations Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella’s exclusive analysis of Ireland’s Six Nations campaign this spring

Become a Member

4 James Ryan (Ireland)

James Ryan James Crombie / INPHO James Crombie / INPHO / INPHO

5. Alun Wyn Jones (Wales)

Alun Wyn Jones with Mathieu Babillot Ryan Byrne / INPHO Ryan Byrne / INPHO / INPHO

6. Aaron Shingler (Wales)

Six Nations Rugby / YouTube

7. Dan Leavy (Ireland)

Jack McGrath celebrates with Dan Leavy after the game Billy Stickland / INPHO Billy Stickland / INPHO / INPHO

8. John Barclay (Scotland)

John Barclay celebrates with the Calcutta Cup James Crombie / INPHO James Crombie / INPHO / INPHO


16. Guilhem Guirado (France)
17. Cian Healy (Ireland)
18. Rabah Slimani (France)
19. Iain Henderson (Ireland)
20. Peter O’Mahony (Ireland)
21. Gareth Davies (Wales)
22. Bundee Aki (Ireland)
23. Stuart Hogg (Scotland)

Analysis: Schmidt’s genius set-piece strike cuts England apart for Stander try

Schmidt seals status as Ireland’s greatest ever coach with Grand Slam success

Your Voice
Readers Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
Leave a Comment

    Leave a commentcancel