Dan Sheridan/INPHO Mike Ruddock (centre) pictured with (from l-r) David Busby, Sean O'Brien, Dan Leavy, Jack O'Donoghue and Peter Dooley in January of this year.
# jwc 2014
8 new faces in Ireland U20 squad for 2014 Junior World Championship
Coach Mike Ruddock has selected four players that featured in last year’s JWC, including captain Sean O’Brien.

IRELAND U20 COACH has named eight uncapped players in his squad that will travel to the Junior World Championship in New Zealand this summer.

14 of the 28-man squad are from Leinster with nine representatives from Munster, three from Connacht and two Ulster players. Ruddock will bring only four players that featured in the 2013 JWC in France. They include Peadar Timmins, Jack O’Donoghue, Peter Dooley and Sean O’Brien, who will captain the team.

The eight uncapped players are Diarmaid Dee, Dylan Donnellan, John Madigan, Darragh Moloney and Craig Trenier, who are are named with the forwards. William Dardis, Ryan Foley, Ciaran Gaffney join the backs. They will be hoping to break into a Wolfpuppies team that underwhelmed in this year’s Six Nations. Ireland beat Scotland and Italy comfortably but fell to Wales, England and France.

The U2os share pool B with France, Fiji and Wales and open their tournament against France on Monday, 2 June in Auckland.

Sean O'Brien and Dan Goggin celebrate after the game Ryan Byrne / INPHO Ireland U2o captain Sean O'Brien and Munster's Dan Goggin are off to New Zealand this summer. Ryan Byrne / INPHO / INPHO

Ireland squad

  • Max Abbott (Cork Constitution – Munster)
  • Rory Burke (Cork Constitution – Munster)
  • David Busby (Queens – Ulster)
  • Ross Byrne (UCD – Leinster)
  • Denis Coulson (Lansdowne/ Carlow IT – Leinster)
  • William Dardis (UCD – Leinster)*
  • Diarmaid Dee (Young Munster – Munster)*
  • Dylan Donnellan (UCD – Leinster)*
  • Peter Dooley (Lansdowne – Leinster)
  • Ryan Foley (Cork Constitution – Munster)*
  • Ciaran Gaffney (Galwegians – Connacht)*
  • Stephen Gardiner (Lansdowne – Leinster)
  • Dan Goggin (Young Munster – Munster)
  • Cian Kelleher (Lansdowne – Leinster)
  • John Madigan (Dolphin – Munster)*
  • Nick McCarthy (UCD – Leinster)
  • Mickey McKeon (Lansdowne – Leinster)
  • Darragh Moloney (Cork Constitution – Munster)*
  • Rory Moloney (Buccaneers – Connacht)
  • Ross Molony (UCD – Leinster)
  • Sean O’Brien (Galwegians – Connacht) (Capt)
  • Jack O’Donoghue (UL Bohemian – Munster)
  • Garry Ringrose (UCD – Leinster)
  • Peter Robb (Old Belvedere – Leinster)
  • Frank Taggart (Belfast Harlequins – Ulster)
  • Peadar Timmins (UCD – Leinster)
  • Craig Trenier (Terenure – Leinster)*
  • Alex Wootton (Garryowen – Munster)

*Donates a player capped previously at U20 level

‘Munster can’t keep doing this to ourselves every year’ — Simon Zebo

Sean O’Brien ‘not a million miles away’ from returning for Leinster

Your Voice
Readers Comments