Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 10°C Friday 30 October 2020

Alan Browne and Kevin Long in line for Ireland debuts as 19 players travel to the US

The Boys in Green face Mexico in New Jersey this Thursday.

Preston midfielder Alan Browne.
Preston midfielder Alan Browne.
Image: PA Archive/PA Images

IRELAND MANAGER MARTIN O’Neill will take an inexperienced 19-man squad to New Jersey to take on Mexico this week.

The Boys in Green play a friendly at Metlife Stadium on Thursday (1am kick-off Irish time), before returning to Dublin to take on Uruguay next Sunday ahead of the World Cup qualifier against Austria on 11 June.

A selection of the panel trained at Fota Island this week, with Burnley defender Kevin Long, Preston midfielder Alan Browne and West Ham teenager Declan Rice involved with the senior set-up for the first time.

And while Rice has been left out for the US trip, both Long and Browne could make senior debuts after retaining their spots.

Goalkeepers Darren Randolph and Colin Doyle have recently linked up with the group along with James McClean. but several first-team players are being rested.

John Egan (Brentford), Conor Hourihane (Aston Villa), Andy Boyle and Daryl Horgan (both Preston North End) won their first caps in the recent friendly with Iceland, and all four are included.

The list is short on strikers with just Ipswich Town’s David McGoldrick and Daryl Murphy of Newcastle United named.

Ireland squad to play Mexico

Goalkeepers: Darren Randolph, Colin Doyle

Defenders: Cyrus Christie, Alex Pearce, Richard Keogh, Shane Duffy, Andy Boyle, Kevin Long, John Egan

Midfielders: Eunan O’Kane, Alan Browne, Daryl Horgan, Conor Hourihane, Wes Hoolahan, Stephen Gleeson, Callum O’Dowda, James McClean

Forwards: David McGoldrick, Daryl Murphy

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Diego Costa says he’ll only leave Chelsea for Atletico Madrid

Michael Carrick is staying at Man United for another year

About the author:

Ben Blake

Read next: