Friday 3 February 2023 Dublin: 10°C
Donall Farmer/INPHO Leinster scrum-half Andrew Feeney has been picked.
# Talent
Ireland U18 Clubs name promising squad to travel to Three Nations Tournament
Leinster have 10 players included in the squad, with Munster providing six, Ulster two and Connacht just one.

IRELAND U18 CLUBS head coach Wayne Mitchell has selected an exciting 24-man squad for the The Nations Tournament, which is set to take place in the Centre National de Rugby in Marcoussis, France.

Leinster are the best represented province in the squad, with 10 youngsters from the east of the country set for the trip. Navan RFC provide two players, in the shape of back rows Conor Farrell and Conor Hand, who helped the club to an All-Ireland U17 title in 2013.

Mullingar also have two representatives, in centre Ronan Wallace and out-half Conor O’Brien, while Coolmine RFC’s Vakhtang Abdaladze, a prop who has already been involved with Leinster’s sub-academy, has been selected too.

Making up the Leinster contingent are clever Suttonians scrum-half Andrew Feeney, Skerries out-half/fullback Ciaran Frawley, Dundalk U17s captain Tadgh McElroy, and Peter Howard, a centre with Cill Dara RFC.

Ardee RFC’s powerful No. 8 Neil Reilly will captain the squad.

Munster have seen six of their players called up for the Three Nations Tournament, including Tralee’s Josh Barnes – the lock/back row is a younger brother of former Munster centre Danny.

Clonakilty provide two players in loosehead prop Philip Poillot and fullback Joe White, who are joined by several of their Munster U18 teammates in Young Munster tighthead Bens Betts, Midleton lock Seán O’Leary, and Bruff wing Brian Fanning.

Sean O'Leary James Crombie / INPHO Munster lock Sean O'Leary is included in the squad. James Crombie / INPHO / INPHO

There are just two Ulstermen in the squad, in the form of Coleraine’s Cameron Fulton  and Adam McBurney of Randalstown, while Connacht’s sole representative is Matthew Cosgrove.

The latter recently helped Sligo Grammar to a Connacht Schools Senior Cup, but the back row/centre also plays with local club side Sligo RFC.

Exclusive Six
Nations Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella’s exclusive analysis of Ireland’s Six Nations campaign this spring

Become a Member

Mitchell and his coaching staff [ Jamie Turkington, Brendan O'Connor and Seamus Twomey and Tom Nyhan] have called on five Exiles players to round out their squad.

Prop Jake Byrne, who recently helped Northampton to an academy league title in England, Bath lock Hugh Sloan, Kieran Joyce of Silhillians, Josh Daly of Bristol and Newcastle halfback Brett Connon are all named in the 24-man selection.

Ireland U18 Clubs will face hosts France on Saturday the 12th of April, with the second and final game following on Wednesday the 16th of April.

IRELAND U18 Clubs: Vakhtang Abdaladze (Coolmine/Leinster), Josh Barnes (Tralee/Munster), Bens Betts (Young Munster/Munster), Jake Byrne (Northampton/Exiles), Brett Connon (Newcastle/Exiles), Matthew Cosgrove (Sligo/Connacht), Josh Daly (Bristol/Exiles), Brian Fanning (Bruff/Munster), Conor Farrell (Navan/Leinster), Andrew, Feeney (Suttonians/Leinster), Ciaran Frawley (Skerries/Leinster), Cameron Fulton (Coleraine/Ulster), Conor Hand (Navan/Leinster), Peter Howard (Cill Dara/Leinster), Kieran Joyce (Silhillians/Exiles), Adam McBurney (Randalstown/Ulster), Tadgh McElroy (Dundalk/Leinster), Conor O Brien (Mullingar/Leinster), Sean O’Leary (Middleton/Munster), Phillip Poillot (Clonakilty/Munster), Neil Reilly (Ardee/Leinster) capt., Hugh Sloan (Bath/Exiles), Ronan Wallace (Mullingar/Leinster), Joe White (Clonakilty/Munster).

Pienaar: ‘Sport is a very powerful tool, it has the power to change the world’

O’Connor giving nothing away as Toulon tussle looms large

Your Voice
Readers Comments