Saturday 28 January 2023 Dublin: 5°C
Camerasport/Dave Howarth/INPHO Ireland face Argentina tomorrow evening.
# Team news
Big boost for Ireland U20s as captain Ryan fit to start semi-final clash with Argentina
Ireland make 11 changes for Monday’s game in Manchester.

IRELAND HEAD COACH Nigel Carolan has named his team for tomorrow’s World Rugby U20 Championship semi-final against Argentina, with captain James Ryan declared fit to play.

Ryan missed last Wednesday’s win over Georgia with a thigh injury but has recovered in time to start alongside Sean O’Connor in the second-row for Monday’s game at the Manchester City Academy Stadium.

O’Connor is one of just four players retained from the 35-7 Pool A victory over Georgia with Carolan restoring his first choice XV for the last four clash.

Front-rowers Andrew Porter, Adam McBurney and Ben Betts all return while Johnny McPhillips, who scored 18 points last time out, partners Stephen Kerins in the half-backs.

“The players have done really well to get themselves into a World Championship Semi-Final,” Carolan said.

“There’s a great belief amongst this group and they’ve shown what they can do as a team over the course of the last number of games.

“Argentina are going to present another big test for us. They have a lot of physicality up front as well as pace out wide so we are going to need to be at the top of our game tomorrow.”

Victories over Wales, New Zealand and Georgia have seen Ireland progress to the semi-final stage for just the second time in the competition’s nine-year history.

The game kicks-off at 5.30pm and is live on TG4 and Sky Sports 3. Hosts England face South Africa in the other semi-final at 7.45pm.

Ireland U20s:

15. Jacob Stockdale (Belfast Harlequins / Ulster)
14. Matthew Byrne (Terenure / Leinster)
13. Shane Daly (Cork Con / Munster)
12. Conor O’Brien (Clontarf / Leinster)
11. Hugo Keenan (UCD / Leinster)
10. Johnny McPhillips (Queen’s University / Ulster)
9. Stephen Kerins (Sligo / Connacht)

1. Andrew Porter (UCD / Leinster)
2. Adam McBurney (Ballymena / Ulster)
3. Ben Betts (Young Munster / Munster)
4. Sean O’Connor (Cashel / Munster)
5. James Ryan (Lansdowne / Leinster) Captain
6. Greg Jones (UCD / Leinster)
7. David Aspil (St.Mary’s RFC / Leinster)
8. Max Deegan (Lansdowne / Leinster)

Exclusive Six
Nations Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella’s exclusive analysis of Ireland’s Six Nations campaign this spring

Become a Member

16. Vincent O’Brien (Cork Con / Munster)
17. James Bollard (Dublin University / Leinster)
18. Adam Coyle (Naas / Leinster)
19. Evan Mintern (Cork Con / Munster)
20. Kelvin Brown (Shannon / Munster)
21. Niall Saunders (Harlequins)
22. Brett Connon (Newcastle Falcons)
23. Jimmy O’Brien (UCD / Leinster)

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

‘Absolutely no’ – Eddie Jones rules out leading the Lions in New Zealand

Heartbreak for Ireland as Olympic dream shattered after defeat to Spain