Dublin: 12°C Wednesday 18 May 2022

Obafemi, Collins and Parrott included in Kenny's exciting Ireland U21 squad

Kenny has named a 22-player squad for the upcoming European Championship qualifiers.

Obafemi scored in the League Cup for Southampton last night.
Obafemi scored in the League Cup for Southampton last night.
Image: Matt Dunham

Updated at 17.24

TROY PARROTT, MICHAEL Obafemi and Nathan Collins have been included in the latest Ireland U21 squad, as Stephen Kenny’s side gear up for European Championship qualifying games against Armenia and Sweden. 

The trio had originally been named in Mick McCarthy’s senior squad, but now appear likely to be involved for the U21 side in their crucial back-to-back qualifiers next month.

When asked about Obafemi, Collins and Parrott in today’s press conference, Kenny explained: “They’re available for 21s selection, but also on standby for the senior team.” 

Included in Kenny’s 22-man panel for the first time are Bournemouth midfielder Gavin Kilkenny, Jason Knight of Derby County and striker Jonathan Afolabi, who has recently joined Scottish champions Celtic, and Danny McNamara, who is currently on loan at Newport County from Championship side Millwall. 

The form of both Danny Mandroiu and Darragh Leahy for Bohemians in the League of Ireland has been recognised with call-ups, while Waterford winger Zack Elbouzedi and UCD defender Liam Scales also come into the squad. 

Connor Ronan, who is currently on loan at Slovakian side Dunajská Streda from Wolverhampton Wanderers, has been ruled out of the squad through injury.

After opening their qualifying campaign with a 3-0 win over Luxembourg in March, Ireland welcome Armenia to Tallaght Stadium on Friday 6 September before travelling to Kalmar to face Sweden on Tuesday 10 September.

Republic of Ireland U21 squad:

Goalkeepers: Caoimhin Kelleher (Liverpool), Gavin Bazunu (Manchester City).


Get closer to the stories that matter with exclusive analysis, insight and debate in The42 Membership.

Become a Member

Defenders: Danny McNamara (Newport County, on loan from Millwall), Lee O’Connor (Manchester United), Dara O’Shea (West Bromwich Albion), Conor Masterson (QPR), Darragh Leahy (Bohemians), Nathan Collins (Stoke City), Liam Scales (UCD AFC).

Midfielders: Jayson Molumby (Millwall, on loan from Brighton and Hove Albion), Jason Knight (Derby County), Conor Coventry (West Ham United), Jake Doyle-Hayes (Cheltenham Town, on loan from Aston Villa), Jack Taylor (Barnet), Danny Mandroiu (Bohemians), Gavin Kilkenny (AFC Bournemouth), Zack Elbouzedi (Waterford).

Forwards: Adam Idah (Norwich City), Jonathan Afolabi (Celtic), Aaron Connolly (Brighton and Hove Albion), Michael Obafemi (Southampton), Troy Parrott (Tottenham Hotspur).

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

About the author:

Paul Fennessy

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel