Advertisement
Ryan Byrne/INPHO

As it happened: Republic of Ireland v England, Uefa Nations League

Kick-off at the Aviva Stadium is at 5pm.

Good evening!

Howโ€™s everyone doing?

Welcome to our live coverage of Irelandโ€™s Nations League opener against England at the Aviva Stadium.

The Heimir Halgrimsson era begins at five oโ€™clock this evening, and against a visiting English side managed for the first time by former Ireland international Lee Carsley.

Another former Ireland international, Declan Rice, starts in midfield for England, and so too does former Ireland U21 Jack Grealish. Iโ€™ll have full team news for you momentarily.

Itโ€™s Gavan Casey with you here, and Iโ€™ll bring you live updates throughout the game in the event that you canโ€™t make it to Landsdowne Road or to a telly.

declan-rice Ryan Byrne / INPHO Ryan Byrne / INPHO / INPHO

Team News

The headline news out of Halgrimssonโ€™s first selection is that Celtic striker Adam Idah is chosen to start over Evan Ferguson, who is yet to clock meaningful minutes for Brighton this season after a five-month injury absence.

Itโ€™s unclear as to what formation Halgrimsson will deploy: he prefers four at the back, whereas John Oโ€™Shea has previously gone with three centre-backs and two wing-backs. Their XI today facilitates either formation, so it will be interesting to see how Ireland line out at kick-off.

England certainly look to be playing three centre-backs with Harry Maguire, Marc Guehi and Levi Colwill all selected to start by Carsley. Kobbie Mainoo partners Rice in midfield.

Irelandโ€™s Icelandic boss already holds a victory over England from Euro 2016, when his home country knocked them out in the last 16.

heimir-hallgrimsson-before-the-game Laszlo Geczo / INPHO Laszlo Geczo / INPHO / INPHO

How are you feeling?

Your match predictionsโ€ฆ

Poll Results:

England (94)
We'll do them for yis today! (27)
Draw (20)

an-england-fan-with-irish-fans-ahead-of-the-game James Crombie / INPHO James Crombie / INPHO / INPHO

Sounds like Ireland will indeed start with three centre-backs (Coleman, Collins and Oโ€™Shea) and two wing-backs (Doherty and Brady).

Itโ€™s a similar system to that which John Oโ€™Shea used during his stint as interim manager, but a bit of a departure for Halgrimsson who has typically preferred a four-man defence throughout his own managerial career.

The atmosphere is absolutely fizzing at the Aviva, where the sides are about to make their way out of the tunnel.

Seven minutes to kick-off: strap in!

President Michael D. Higgins just doing the rounds, now.

Very warm double-handed handshake from Rice, who has met him before, of courseโ€ฆ

God Save The King is booed to quite a significant extent by portions of the ground.

Englandโ€™s 3,000 away fans also boo Amhrรกn na bhFiann, but are naturally drowned out.

This is a very different atmosphere to the 2015 friendly at the Aviva, which finished 0-0.

Kick-off

1โ€ฒ โ€“ IRE 0-0 ENG: The game finally kicks off, over four minutes late. England will attack into their 3,000 away fans in the first half.

Kobbie Mainoo gets us underway.

2โ€ฒ โ€“ IRE 0-0 ENG: Ireland win a corner as Caoimhรญn Kelleher goes long from a free-kick and Matt Doherty heads onto Ogbene. The wingerโ€™s cross is cleared out behind the English byline.

Jayson Molumby gets stuck into Jack Grealish, and the crowd go nuts.

Robbie Bradyโ€™s corner is a brilliant one and Molumby gets under his header after a slight nick on the ball as it came to him. Over the bar โ€” that was a good chance!

6โ€ฒ โ€“ IRE 0-0 ENG: Positive start by Ireland, who are, eh, putting England under pressure the old-fashioned way.

7โ€ฒ โ€“ IRE 0-0 ENG: Chance for England! Great ball in by Trent Alexander-Arnold and Harry Kaneโ€™s powerful header goes narrowly over Kelleherโ€™s bar.

Poor marking by Ireland. Kane should have done better.

10โ€ฒ โ€“ IRE 0-0 ENG: England have enjoyed a spell of control since Kaneโ€™s chance. Grealish running the show, through the boos.

Ireland, though, carve a nice chance: Ogbene flicks inside to Molumby, he finds Szmodics and Szmodicsโ€™ shot from just outside the area is parried away by Pickford.

GOAL FOR ENGLAND! Ireland 0-1 England

11โ€ฒ - GOOOOAAAALLL! AND, UGH, ITโ€™S DECLAN RICE!

Awful defending by Ireland and Anthony Gordon saunters through on a one-on-one. Kelleher makes a great stop, but England recycle.

Gordon squares to Kane, whose strike is blocked, but it rebounds to Rice who hammers the ball with his instep into the top-right corner! Incredible finish from about 15 yards out.

Rice does the muted celebration as though heโ€™s just scored against his former club. The England fans are loving it. Itโ€™s a sore one for Ireland.

17โ€ฒ โ€“ IRE 0-1 ENG: Kane had another brilliant chance for England shortly after the goal as the visitors countered from a blocked Robbie Brady free-kick at the edge of their own area.

Another brilliant stop by Kelleher to keep Ireland in this.

Ominous signs. For all of Irelandโ€™s bite, the gulf in actual footballing quality is starting to become evident already.

GOAL FOR ENGLAND! Ireland 0-2 England

26โ€ฒ - I actually donโ€™t believe this. Jack Grealish doubles Englandโ€™s lead!

Itโ€™s Rice who tees up the former Ireland U21 international, playing a one-two with Bukayo Saka before pulling it back to Grealish.

Lovely English move. Grealish sweeps the ball into the bottom left-hand corner with Kelleher rooted to the spot.

Grealish, unlike Rice, properly celebrates it.

England have had 81% possession and Irelandโ€™s โ€˜back-to-basicsโ€™ approach has been roughly as effective as their more possession-based approach under Stephen Kenny โ€” which is to say not very.

Itโ€™s, ehโ€ฆ

declan-rice-after-scoring-his-sides-first-goal Ryan Byrne / INPHO Ryan Byrne / INPHO / INPHO

jack-grealish-celebrates-scoring-his-sides-second-goal Laszlo Geczo / INPHO Laszlo Geczo / INPHO / INPHO

โ€ฆItโ€™s not good, folks.

45โ€ฒ โ€“ IRE 0-2 ENG: Kane has had a couple more sniffs at goal. Ireland just canโ€™t hold onto the ball. Atmosphere is dead now โ€” Rice isnโ€™t even being booed anymore.

Fair play to England, theyโ€™ve been excellent. Ireland reduced to cheap fouls now as we approach half-time.

Half-time: Ireland 0-2 England

Ireland trail at the break to goals by Declan Rice and Jack Grealish.

IMG_3199

Second half

46โ€ฒ โ€“ IRE 0-2 ENG: Weโ€™re unfortunately back underway at the Aviva.

Far be it for me to tell you what to do with the rest of your afternoon, but Iโ€™d propose that you move on with your life and leave this game in your rearview.

Iโ€™ll ping you on a notification for any goal, and you also have the option to turn off that facility at the top of the liveblog if youโ€™d prefer to break from the game entirely.

49โ€ฒ โ€“ IRE 0-2 ENG: A lot of Irish fans havenโ€™t returned to their seats for the second half. Presumably, a fair few of them are enjoying a pint around the concourses, but the empty seats are indicative of how intolerable that first half became.

56โ€ฒ โ€“ IRE 0-2 ENG: Harry Maguire accidentally trod on Sรฉamus Colemanโ€™s Achilles, taking his boot clean off. Coleman went down in a lot of pain.

The Irish captain, who has been playing in Irelandโ€™s back three, is going to be replaced by Jake Oโ€™Brien. A third cap for Colemanโ€™s Everton teammate.

Jason Knight replaces Matt Doherty, too.

58โ€ฒ โ€“ IRE 0-2 ENG: The only hope for Ireland is that England are lulled into such a sense of security that they lose all intensity, and Ireland somehow fashion a goal from that point.

Just as I type that, Szmodics goes close from the edge of the area after a decent move.

The game is being played at friendly pace now.

I should add that most of the seats have filled back up, too.

61โ€ฒ โ€“ IRE 0-2 ENG: Ogbene, one of few bright-ish sparks for Ireland, creates an opening. Szmodics feeds Molumby in acres of space at the edge of the box but Molumbyโ€™s effort is horrific and flies over the bar.

75โ€ฒ โ€“ IRE 0-2 ENG: Kasey McAteer on for his Irish debut, Adam Idah gone off.

The game has kind of descended to nothingness, now. No chances of note. Sterile possession by England who are holding out Ireland at ease whenever they cough up the ball.

82โ€ฒ โ€“ IRE 0-2 ENG: Evan Ferguson on for his first bit of football since 31 March, replacing Robbie Brady.

Some minutes in the legs ahead of Greece on Tuesday, at least.

94โ€ฒ โ€“ IRE 0-2 ENG: Two more really good stops by Kelleher to keep it at 2-0 in stoppage time, of which there are five minutes.

Full-time: Ireland 0-2 England

Men against boys at the Aviva. A tough evening. Ireland are where they are and itโ€™s a going to be a long way back.

Thanks for joining me for live updates. Catch you soon.

View 111 comments
Close
111 Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
Leave a Comment
    Install the app to use these features.
    Mute Gerry Campbell
    Favourite Gerry Campbell
    Sep 7th 2024, 5:02 PM

Booing the English anthem ,disgraceful shameful stuff ,the glory days of decent football gone ,the supporters have decided to throw away their reputation now as wellโ€ฆ

Mute Karl Gallagher
    Favourite Karl Gallagher
    Sep 7th 2024, 5:26 PM

@Gerry Campbell: You would never see this in Rugby.

Mute Pat Hazzard
    Favourite Pat Hazzard
    Sep 7th 2024, 5:39 PM

@Gerry Campbell: agreed, utterly shameful behaviour by small minded bigots.

See 13 more replies โ–พ
    Mute Bingbangbong
    Favourite Bingbangbong
    Sep 7th 2024, 5:44 PM

@Karl Gallagher: Never. No class in football

Mute Shane O Mac
    Favourite Shane O Mac
    Sep 7th 2024, 5:59 PM

@Gerry Campbell: are they really supporters, and I bet they donโ€™t even care.

Mute Gerry Campbell
    Favourite Gerry Campbell
    Sep 7th 2024, 6:01 PM

@Shane O Mac: Iโ€™d agree,I was bulling when I wrote that so hopefully it was just a few donkeys

Mute David Glynn
    Favourite David Glynn
    Sep 7th 2024, 6:17 PM

@Gerry Campbell: we deserve the hiding weโ€™re going to get after that. No class

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Sep 7th 2024, 7:04 PM

@Karl Gallagher: No. Rugby would be more synonymous with things like dwarf throwing.

Mute SerotoninWars
    Favourite SerotoninWars
    Sep 7th 2024, 7:08 PM

@Gerry Campbell: Why is it disgraceful? Who cares. Itโ€™s just pantomime stuff. Honestly, the idea that national anthems are sooooo important is just daft. It wouldnโ€™t even bother me to hear other fans booing ours. Itโ€™s just a bit of pre-game silliness. The influence of the English gutter press on far too many Irish people is clear to see on so many issues these days. Total melodrama over anything nationalistic and thatโ€™s before we get to the really dark side of it.

Mute Basildon Joe
    Favourite Basildon Joe
    Sep 7th 2024, 7:23 PM

@Gerry Campbell: better team.by a mile won easy. Disgraceful disrespect from Ireland fans booing the English anthem. They were lucky not to get their stadium smashed up again.

Mute SerotoninWars
    Favourite SerotoninWars
    Sep 7th 2024, 7:28 PM

@Gerry Campbell: Get over yourself. That total anachronism of an anthem doesnโ€™t deserve respect. End of. Tonnes of English fans agree. The ones up off their knees when it comes to their social betters. Not the Daily Mail mob.

Mute SerotoninWars
    Favourite SerotoninWars
    Sep 7th 2024, 7:30 PM

@Gerry Campbell: That was meant for Basildon Joe. Something up with the reply function. Only brings up your name. Apologies Gerry. But none to Basildon Joe after that loutish comment.

Mute anthony davoren
    Favourite anthony davoren
    Sep 7th 2024, 7:54 PM

@Basildon Joe: hahaha what a moronic commentโ€ฆ commenting that the booing was disgraceful and in the same breath glamourising the smashing up of a stadium.

Mute Paully kells
    Favourite Paully kells
    Sep 8th 2024, 2:20 AM

@Basildon Joe: gobshiet..they wouldnโ€™t even try it these days. And well they knew it.

Mute Paul Ennis
    Favourite Paul Ennis
    Sep 8th 2024, 4:09 AM

@Louis Jacob: Whataboutery at itโ€™s finest. Irish Rugby supporters do not boo the English Anthem (EVER) even though they get a chance at least every other year. People do shocking and disgraceful things all the time and many will have a connection to Irish rugby (Sean Oโ€™Brien & Paddy Jackson to name only 2). But the dwarf throwing was English players and irrelevant to a conversation about a few soccer fans who do not have the intelligence to realise that their own bigotry makes them no better than the occupiers of 200 years ago whom they are showing their disapproval of. I also wonder how many of those bigots will be standing shoulder to shoulder with the ancestors of those occupiers in Anfield, Old Trafford or Stamford Bridge in a few weeks time? Quite a few I would guess!!

Mute damien leen
    Favourite damien leen
    Sep 8th 2024, 11:55 AM

@Basildon Joe: youโ€™re beyond help.

Mute James Johnson
    Favourite James Johnson
    Sep 7th 2024, 5:39 PM

Ah in fairness itโ€™s a bit funny that Rice and Grealish scored. Booing the national anthem but yet supporting English teams. The irony.

Mute Shane O Mac
    Favourite Shane O Mac
    Sep 7th 2024, 6:00 PM

@James Johnson: Liverpool fans in UK donโ€™t sing English national anthem

Mute Dave Harris
    Favourite Dave Harris
    Sep 7th 2024, 6:06 PM

@Shane O Mac: thatโ€™s even more laughable in fairness

See 8 more replies โ–พ
    Mute orb7eckn
    Favourite orb7eckn
    Sep 7th 2024, 7:11 PM

@Dave Harris: Alright Dave

Mute Sean O'Maolain
    Favourite Sean O'Maolain
    Sep 7th 2024, 7:14 PM

@James Johnson: Ehe Eng national anthem represents 800 years of oppression on the Irish people. Man united, Harry Kane or big Ben do not.

Mute James Johnson
    Favourite James Johnson
    Sep 7th 2024, 7:41 PM

@Sean Oโ€™Maolain: Ah stop will you. Majority of parents today brought their kids so they could see the English players. Lave it off.

Mute Sean O'Maolain
    Favourite Sean O'Maolain
    Sep 7th 2024, 8:00 PM

@James Johnson: huge amount of people have great time for Eng ppl and all things good that are English. However, itโ€™s very easy to say forget our past like u do. The English anthem will always remind us of the past.

Mute James Johnson
    Favourite James Johnson
    Sep 7th 2024, 8:14 PM

@Sean Oโ€™Maolain: No bother Sean. If you want to live your life living in the past and not being able to change that or do anything about it, you belt away.

Mute Sean O'Maolain
    Favourite Sean O'Maolain
    Sep 7th 2024, 8:27 PM

@James Johnson: I didnโ€™t say I agreed with the booing. What is wrong with u? Why u so angry. Im just saying it ridiculous mentioning the clubโ€™s ppl support. The clubโ€™s have nothing got to do with what the Eng anthem represents to a lot of Irish folk.

Mute James Johnson
    Favourite James Johnson
    Sep 7th 2024, 9:24 PM

@Sean Oโ€™Maolain: No anger here pal. Just donโ€™t understand Irish disliking the English but still supporting the teams. Anyway, have a great night

Mute Leonard Barry
    Favourite Leonard Barry
    Sep 7th 2024, 10:43 PM

@Sean Oโ€™Maolain: What do you actually remember of the past and how did it effect you personally?

Mute Sean O'Dhubhghaill
    Favourite Sean O'Dhubhghaill
    Sep 7th 2024, 5:00 PM

Crowd booing the English Anthem. Classy.

Mute Ben Jones
    Favourite Ben Jones
    Sep 7th 2024, 5:33 PM

@Sean Oโ€™Dhubhghaill: How ridiculous was that. Say what you will about the Rugby crown, they would never do that.

Mute orb7eckn
    Favourite orb7eckn
    Sep 7th 2024, 7:12 PM

@Ben Jones: thatโ€™s cos they are west Brits, itโ€™s probably half the supporters true anthem

See 4 more replies โ–พ
    Mute Pat O Dwyer
    Favourite Pat O Dwyer
    Sep 7th 2024, 7:58 PM

@orb7eckn: Iโ€™m no west Brit and I played rugbyโ€ฆ.and hurling and Gaelic football amongst other sportsโ€ฆyou need to get out a bit more and mix with people and not stay stuck in the box room of your parents house looking for ways to be offended online

Mute orb7eckn
    Favourite orb7eckn
    Sep 7th 2024, 8:06 PM

@Pat O Dwyer: Donโ€™t worry about me Pat, Iโ€™m not one of those wilting violets. I was at the riot our lovely neighbours kicked off in 95, I seen the chaos they caused and the damage they done and thatโ€™s recent history, I could go into the other stuff. But Iโ€™m glad you can forgive and forget, kudos to you. All you pearl clutchers need a fkn dose of reality.

Mute colin coady
    Favourite colin coady
    Sep 7th 2024, 9:26 PM

@orb7eckn: well said joe.
    Nottin worse than the Rugby type taking the moral high ground.They only comment on anything negative about the game of football. Forget about them

Mute orb7eckn
    Favourite orb7eckn
    Sep 7th 2024, 10:19 PM

@colin coady: nice one, I know we are diff sides of the aisle and all that but fk sake give me a break, the rugby crowd and their mocking of the working class game is what it breaks down to. Itโ€™s an elitist sport in Ireland played by boys (for the most part) from private schools. The savages are booing a national anthem, what pigs. Meanwhile they have closer problems to home. Need to teach the lads about consent.

Mute Marcus Maher - Triskellion Films
    Favourite Marcus Maher - Triskellion Films
    Sep 7th 2024, 5:37 PM

Even as a Liverpool supporter (born there) I could never support England. The fact Rice played 3x for Ireland and then changed nation says a lot about him. Sadly we are (as I support Ireland) short on real talent at the moment and seeing both Grealish and Rice score certainly pours salt on the wound.

Mute Shawn
    Favourite Shawn
    Sep 7th 2024, 5:41 PM

@Marcus Maher โ€“ Triskellion Films: Do most liverpool people support ireland now not england im from cork support liverpool lots irish links

Mute Shawn
    Favourite Shawn
    Sep 7th 2024, 5:42 PM

@Shawn: I mean english born in liverpool

See 3 more replies โ–พ
    Mute Marcus Maher - Triskellion Films
    Favourite Marcus Maher - Triskellion Films
    Sep 7th 2024, 6:04 PM

@Shawn: Shawn, most wouldnโ€™t be bothered tbh. They may take a passing interest as Trent is playing for England, but generally most people in Liverpool do not give a monkeys (seriously) about England, itโ€™s a southern home counties thing, and yes theyโ€™d be most inclined to support Ireland, probably Wales (because of proximity)

Mute Shawn
    Favourite Shawn
    Sep 7th 2024, 6:32 PM

@Marcus Maher โ€“ Triskellion Films: Yes i heard this a lot

Mute Cuthbert Inglebert
    Favourite Cuthbert Inglebert
    Sep 7th 2024, 7:13 PM

@Marcus Maher โ€“ Triskellion Films: โ€œThe fact Rice played 3x for Ireland and then changed nation says a lot about him.โ€

What does it say about James McClean ?

He played several games for Northern Ireland

Mute gary sheehan
    Favourite gary sheehan
    Sep 7th 2024, 4:19 PM

Only place Brady should be left back is in the changing room

Mute Tom O' Donnell
    Favourite Tom O' Donnell
    Sep 7th 2024, 7:15 PM

@gary sheehan: Thought that was harsh when I read it first. Then I watched the game. His strike of the ball used to be his strength. Sad to see him fall so far.

Mute Niall English
    Favourite Niall English
    Sep 7th 2024, 4:51 PM

Brady and Doherty still togging out. lord. 4 nil England.

Mute Tom Ryan
    Favourite Tom Ryan
    Sep 7th 2024, 5:21 PM

@Niall English: Add Coleman to that list

Mute ED
    Favourite ED
    Sep 7th 2024, 5:36 PM

The under 21โ€ฒs would give england a harder game

Mute anthony davoren
    Favourite anthony davoren
    Sep 7th 2024, 7:55 PM

@ED: they wouldnโ€™t

Mute Buster Lawless
    Favourite Buster Lawless
    Sep 7th 2024, 5:21 PM

Jeez, this is shaping up to be a v LONG 90mins

Mute Sean O'Dhubhghaill
    Sep 7th 2024, 5:27 PM

@Buster Lawless: But a fantastic result for Spartacus in the power lifting! 132kg, a PB and 4th place! #COYGIG!

Mute Sean O'Dhubhghaill
    Sep 7th 2024, 5:30 PM

@Sean Oโ€™Dhubhghaill: And another stage win for Eddie Dunbar in La Vuelta! FABULOUS! #COYBIG!!

Mute Shawn
    Favourite Shawn
    Sep 7th 2024, 5:31 PM

People complaing about the booing it was allways going to happen today easy win for england the way 2 nil allreasy lights out

Mute Shawn
    Favourite Shawn
    Sep 7th 2024, 5:32 PM

@Shawn: allready

Mute Aidan Cullinane
    Favourite Aidan Cullinane
    Sep 7th 2024, 6:58 PM

Only for Kelleher, it could have been a total embarrassment

Mute Shaner Mac
    Favourite Shaner Mac
    Sep 7th 2024, 5:37 PM

Rice and Grealish score of all people! That wonโ€™t go down wellโ€ฆ

Mute Pรณl Pot
    Favourite Pรณl Pot
    Sep 7th 2024, 7:24 PM

@Shaner Mac: The English needed our own lads to beat us.

Mute Ben Jones
    Favourite Ben Jones
    Sep 7th 2024, 5:36 PM

We must be teaching soccer incorrectly at the grassroots level. We canโ€™t string a pass together.

Mute robert kelly
    Favourite robert kelly
    Sep 7th 2024, 11:59 PM

@Ben Jones: itโ€™s ironic thatโ€™s exactly what Stephen Kenny was trying to change. Weโ€™ll never will be able to string a pass if we go back to hoofing it

Mute Owen ODonoghue
    Favourite Owen ODonoghue
    Sep 7th 2024, 4:52 PM

England 2-0

Predict a lively opening 10 minutes, Molumby or Coleman getting a yellow card trying to go Roy Keane on an Englsih player. England to take early lead and finish the game off early in the second half

Mute Owen ODonoghue
    Favourite Owen ODonoghue
    Sep 7th 2024, 5:34 PM

@Owen ODonoghue: going as predicted

Mute Derek Oโ€™Sullivan
    Favourite Derek Oโ€™Sullivan
    Sep 7th 2024, 6:53 PM

Iโ€™m sorry but ogbene final ball is shocking considering the amount of ball he gets. Man of the match ( Irish) poor choice. I would give it 2 kelleher.

Mute larry ryan
    Favourite larry ryan
    Sep 7th 2024, 5:31 PM

Grealish different gravy hard believe Southgate left him out love to see him back and villa

Mute did you every wonder
    Favourite did you every wonder
    Sep 7th 2024, 5:55 PM

@larry ryan: coming back a bit for City lately also.

Mute Shane O Mac
    Favourite Shane O Mac
    Sep 7th 2024, 6:02 PM

@larry ryan: itโ€™s Ireland, he had a poor season, last season

See 1 more reply โ–พ
    Mute larry ryan
    Favourite larry ryan
    Sep 7th 2024, 6:08 PM

@did you every wonder: ah ya infairness Iโ€™m big fan gutted he went to city but he was always going to win more there

Mute Declan Young
    Favourite Declan Young

Isnโ€™t it great this? This post Kenny promised land!

Mute orb7eckn
    Favourite orb7eckn

@Declan Young: if Kenny was there theyโ€™d have battered them and then probably rode their missus after

Mute Shawn
    Favourite Shawn
    Sep 7th 2024, 5:46 PM

Get brady off ffs

Mute Jb Walshe
    Favourite Jb Walshe
    Sep 7th 2024, 5:30 PM

A lot of English fans on here,Down with the English.
    Up the Irish

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    Sep 7th 2024, 5:33 PM

@Jb Walshe: Who all irish in commentโ€™s

Mute Jb Walshe
    Favourite Jb Walshe
    Sep 7th 2024, 5:41 PM

@Sean: obviously Sean,not one comment of support for the Irish team who also seem to be in awe of the English team as they canโ€™t string a couple of passes together and just pass it straight back to them.. probably why I donโ€™t watch or subscribe to soccer

See 5 more replies โ–พ
    Mute Shawn
    Favourite Shawn
    Sep 7th 2024, 5:44 PM

@Jb Walshe: Very depressing

Mute Michael o Dwyer
    Favourite Michael o Dwyer
    Sep 7th 2024, 5:48 PM

@Jb Walshe: if you donโ€™t subscribe to it as you say. WTF you on here

Mute Jb Walshe
    Favourite Jb Walshe
    Sep 7th 2024, 5:59 PM

@Michael o Dwyer: because I support Ireland Michael and Iโ€™m as entitled to come on here and comment as much as anyone elseโ€ฆis that ok with you?

Mute Shawn
    Favourite Shawn
    Sep 7th 2024, 6:05 PM

@Jb Walshe: Well said

Mute Jb Walshe
    Favourite Jb Walshe
    Sep 7th 2024, 7:22 PM

@Shawn: thanks Shawn,hope itโ€™s another 25 years before I see another game of soccer but for those who watch and support it,well enjoy it lads and ladies

Mute Derek Oโ€™Sullivan
    Sep 7th 2024, 5:52 PM

They look clueless 2 b honest . This could be 4 r 5 in the end.

Mute 5sZl1dX2
    Favourite 5sZl1dX2
    Sep 7th 2024, 6:33 PM

How much would blowing up the Aviva this evening save us in Social Welfare payments?

Mute orb7eckn
    Favourite orb7eckn

@5sZl1dX2: What. Please tell me you dropped out of school at a young age

Mute Simon Dwyer
    Favourite Simon Dwyer
    Sep 7th 2024, 6:10 PM

Well you boo two of the England players and you get them scoring goals. Happy now.

Mute Hotirish
    Favourite Hotirish
    Sep 7th 2024, 5:54 PM

I am outraged that our Icelandic manager didnโ€™t sing our national anthem.

Mute Brendan
    Favourite Brendan
    Sep 7th 2024, 7:16 PM

@Hotirish: he hummed it

Mute Derek Oโ€™Sullivan
    Sep 7th 2024, 5:54 PM

It be interesting to hear what Keane says at half time. Canโ€™t wait.

Mute Gearoid MacEachaidh
    Favourite Gearoid MacEachaidh
    Sep 7th 2024, 6:44 PM

I know itโ€™s against a top team but Doherty, Malumby and Brady were hopeless and added nothing. Easily the worst midfield weโ€™ve had in the history of Irish football. We need to consider moving someone like Collins in there to add some steel to the team until we unearth some midfield talent.

Mute Shawn
    Favourite Shawn
    Sep 7th 2024, 6:56 PM

@Gearoid MacEachaidh: Brady was shocking we need to left back as soon as possible smallbone is average get hodge are moran in instead off him

Mute Brendan
    Favourite Brendan

Man of the Match was our keeper. Ronnie has officially lost it. That could and should have been a cricket score. Only positives, didnโ€™t lose the second half. Thought Sammy gave a good account of himself too. 3 centre halfs were awful in the first half.

Mute Gerard Lynch
    Favourite Gerard Lynch

Hard to get angry cause we are crap. About 6/7 of them team should be jettisoned for good. For those upset by the booing of the Sassnach anthem ,do you know the 5 lamps

Mute Pat Barry
    Favourite Pat Barry

@Gerard Lynch: Go on, enlighten me, am only aware of the German Air Force and an anti-immigrant protest there.

Mute Michael O'Brien
    Favourite Michael O'Brien
    Sep 7th 2024, 6:09 PM

@Gerard Lynch: itโ€™s called have a bit of class and rising above the dopes that booed. Unfortunately, soccer seems to support the lower level of intelligence. Ireland are woeful just woeful. English showing us what to do with are booing.

See 9 more replies โ–พ
    Mute Gerard Lynch
    Favourite Gerard Lynch
    Sep 7th 2024, 6:39 PM

@Pat Barry: stick to rugby if you are upset by fans trying to create a hostile atmosphere for the opposition. This happens the world over.

Mute Gerard Lynch
    Favourite Gerard Lynch
    Sep 7th 2024, 6:47 PM

@Michael Oโ€™Brien: soccer fans have low level of intelligence shows your own bias. Donโ€™t like it donโ€™t watch . Leinster be back soon for the bland masses.

Mute Pat Barry
    Favourite Pat Barry
    Sep 7th 2024, 7:02 PM

@Gerard Lynch: Did you ever consider a career in politics as you can avoid answering the question!

Mute Gerard Lynch
    Favourite Gerard Lynch
    Sep 7th 2024, 7:10 PM

@Pat Barry: you seem a bit soft, easily upset type so I donโ€™t want to be rude Incase you start crying. But if you want me to I will answer. . Upset by the booing of an opposition teams anthem then I suggest you go and leave a part of your anatomy dangling from a famous street light on the north strand. Do I have your vote โ€ฆ

Mute Thom Hunter
    Favourite Thom Hunter

@Gerard Lynch: so you will hardly whinge when the Soldier Song gets booed and whistled at Windsor Park in the event of a Northern/Republic of Ireland game then?

Mute orb7eckn
    Favourite orb7eckn
    Sep 7th 2024, 7:17 PM

@Thom Hunter: nah itโ€™s all part of the craic, and you enjoy sparking one out that bit better then

Mute Michael O'Brien
    Favourite Michael O'Brien
    Sep 7th 2024, 7:19 PM

@Gerard Lynch: I think you have just confirmed my opinion on the intelligence level of soccer fans. Yep, the oul booing really got them English boys all scared and afraid.

Mute Gerard Lynch
    Favourite Gerard Lynch
    Sep 7th 2024, 7:21 PM

@Thom Hunter: no I would nt care less.

Mute Gerard Lynch
    Favourite Gerard Lynch
    Sep 7th 2024, 7:24 PM

@Michael Oโ€™Brien: England were always going to win but the general point seems lost on you so you might need to reflect on your own estimation of your intellect. Maybe the booers should pen an apology to King Charles. You could offer lessons in some form of superiority you think you possess .

Mute Padraig O'Brien
    Favourite Padraig O'Brien
    Sep 7th 2024, 5:40 PM

Smallbone or small brain?

Mute Shawn
    Favourite Shawn

@Padraig Oโ€™Brien: hodge moran do a better job

Mute Owen ODonoghue
    Favourite Owen ODonoghue

Formation not working here , Coleman isolated each time

Mute Garry Coll
    Favourite Garry Coll
    Sep 7th 2024, 5:49 PM

Story of the first half, โ€œGrealish on his hole again.โ€

Mute honey badger
    Favourite honey badger
    Sep 7th 2024, 5:52 PM

Pure malogint!

Mute Conor Lynott
    Favourite Conor Lynott

Enough in the Irish performance to show we will cause weaker teams problems.

Mute Shawn
    Favourite Shawn
    Sep 7th 2024, 5:43 PM

@Conor Lynott: What is enough

Mute Niall English
    Favourite Niall English

@Conor Lynott: either im watching a different game or your p!ssed!

See 6 more replies โ–พ
    Mute Shawn
    Favourite Shawn
    Sep 7th 2024, 5:48 PM

@Niall English: shocking outclassed could be 6 allready

Mute Spanner
    Favourite Spanner
    Sep 7th 2024, 5:56 PM

@Conor Lynott: not much of a track record causing weaker nations problems in recent years. Irish soccer is sadly only beginning the recovery from itโ€™s recent troubles and under investment. I always enjoy watching them play and live in hope but the booing soured the game for me. This isnโ€™t the standard that is the norm for Irish fans

Mute Conor Lynott
    Favourite Conor Lynott
    Sep 7th 2024, 6:05 PM

@Spanner: New manager now. And a manager who, letโ€™s be honest, got the game plan spot on, despite the score.

Mute Conor Lynott
    Favourite Conor Lynott
    Sep 7th 2024, 6:08 PM

@Shawn: One goal and a clean sheet. Nothing to suggest we canโ€™t do that against weaker sides than England so far. People need to get real. England have the best attack in the world on paper. With the right manager, England will cause the top 5 real problems

Mute Spanner
    Favourite Spanner
    Sep 7th 2024, 6:13 PM

@Conor Lynott: As I said I live in hope and wish him and the team all the best.

Mute Shawn
    Favourite Shawn
    Sep 7th 2024, 6:34 PM

@Conor Lynott: Ya i am real but we are miles behind most teams only bit of light is the under 21s

Mute Fintan Pox
    Favourite Fintan Pox
    Sep 7th 2024, 6:54 PM

Lol

Submit a report
Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
Thank you for the feedback
Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.

Leave a commentcancel

JournalTv
News in 60 seconds
To continue reading create a free account
Or sign into an existing account