Wednesday 1 February 2023 Dublin: 9°C
Ryan Byrne/INPHO Dorothy Wall rejoined to the Sevens set-up earlier this year.
# Squad List
Parsons and Wall included in Ireland Women's Sevens squad for new season
Anthony Eddy picks 26-player squad which mixes youth and plenty of experience.

IRELAND STARS BEIBHINN Parsons and Dorothy Wall are among the XVs internationals included in the Women’s Sevens squad ahead of the new season.

Anthony Eddy today announced a 26-player squad which will begin preparations for the return of the HSBC Women’s World Sevens Series later this year.

Lucy Mulhall captains a group which boasts plenty of crossover with the Women’s XVs squad, with Parsons, Wall, Claire Boles and Enya Breen all named.

Leinster trio Erin King, Aoife Wafer and Vicki Elmes Kinlan have all been called up to the Sevens squad for the first time following their eye-catching performances in the U18 Sevens Inter-Provincial Series.

“I am confident we will find more girls capable of being included in this programme as we continue to build towards the 2024 Paris Olympics,” Eddy said of a panel which mixes youth and plenty of experience.

“We are always looking for talented athletes that have the ability to compete on the world stage with some of the best female athletes in the world.”

The Women’s World Sevens Series begins in Dubai on 3/4 December before a stop in Cape Town on 10-12 December.

Ireland Women’s Sevens Squad 2021/22

Lucy Mulhall (Rathdrum/Leinster)
Amee Leigh Murphy-Crowe (Railway Union/Munster)
Claire Boles (Railway Union/Ulster)
Katie Heffernan (Mullingar/Railway Union/Leinster)
Brittany Hogan (DCU/Old Belvedere/Ulster)
Stacey Flood (Railway Union/Leinster)
Béibhinn Parsons (Blackrock College/Connacht)
Eve Higgins (Railway Union/Leinster)
Anna McGann (Railway Union/Leinster)
Kathy Baker (Blackrock College /Leinster)
Emily Lane (Blackrock College/Munster)
Megan Burns (Blackrock College/Leinster)
Grace Moore (Railway Union/IQ Rugby)
Enya Breen (UL Bohemian/Munster)
Mya Alcorn (Blackrock College/Ulster)
Kate Farrell McCabe (Suttonians/Leinster)
Aoibheann Reilly (Blackrock College/Connacht)
Maebh Dealy (Blackrock College/Connacht)
Anna Doyle (DCU/Blackrock College/Leinster)
Dorothy Wall (Blackrock College/Munster)
Erin King (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
Maeve Liston (Blackrock College/Ulster)
Orla Hayes (Railway Union RFC/Leinster)
Soneva Scott (Irish Sevens)
Vicky Elmes Kinlan (Wicklow RFC/Leinster)
Aoife Wafer (Enniscorthy RFC/Leinster)

Exclusive Six
Nations Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella’s exclusive analysis of Ireland’s Six Nations campaign this spring

Become a Member

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Your Voice
Readers Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
Leave a Comment

    Leave a commentcancel