Tierney continues to ring the changes as Ireland team named for France while trio confirmed in 7s squad

As expected, Sene Naoupu, Alison Miller and Hannah Tyrrell have all switched from the Six Nations squad to the sevens.

Nora Stapleton keeps her place in a much-changed team.
Nora Stapleton keeps her place in a much-changed team.
Image: Giuseppe Fama/INPHO

Updated 16.40

IRELAND HEAD COACH Tom Tierney has made wholesale changes to the Ireland team set to face France in their Women’s 6 Nations clash at Donnybrook Stadium on Sunday (RTÉ Two, 12.45pm).

As expected, there’s no room for Sene Naoupu, Alison Miller and Hannah Tyrrell in the squad with Tierney saying:

“We’ve got a couple of players getting their first Six Nations starts of this season, and we’re looking to continue to give players more game time as we continue to develop depth in the squad ahead of the Women’s Rugby World Cup in August.”

The back three sees Mairead Coyne at fullback and she will have Eimear Considine and Kim Flood, who was part of the Ireland 7s side in Dubai and Sydney, joining her.

At centre, Claire McLaughlin comes into the side, having been a replacement in Italy and Scotland and she will line up beside Jenny Murphy with Mary Healy wearing the number 9 jersey and partnering Nora Stapleton at out-half.

The front-row remains unchanged, with hooker Leah Lyons, partnered by props Lindsay Peat and Ailis Egan but Sophie Spence moves from the replacements to partner Marie-Louise Reilly in the second row.

Flankers Ciara Griffin and Claire Molloy will again join captain Paula Fitzpatrick in the back row.

Ireland (v France):

15. Mairead Coyne
14. Kim Flood
13. Jenny Murphy
12. Claire Mc Laughlin
11. Eimear Considine
10. Nora Stapleton
9. Mary Healy

1. Lindsay Peat
2. Leah Lyons
3. Ailis Egan
4. Sophie Spence
5. Marie-Louise Reilly
6. Ciara Griffin (
7. Claire Molloy
8. Paula Fitzpatrick (captain)


16. Ciara O Connor
17. Ilse Van Staden
18. Ruth O’Reilly
19. Ciara Cooney
20. Nichola Fryday
21. Larissa Muldoon
22. Nikki Caughey
23. Louise Galvin

The original piece was updated to include 7s team news. 

Meanwhile, Antony Eddy has named his 12 players that will travel to Las Vegas for the third stage of the World Rugby Women’s Sevens Series next weekend.

Sene Naoupu, Alison Miller and Hannah Tyrrell have all been confirmed as part of the squad, as expected.

Ireland will face USA in their opening game, before tackling Fiji and Spain. The team finished in 8th place at the Sydney 7s — their best placing since 2013 — and will be looking to build on that next weekend.

What are they
really like?

Rare insights on sport's biggest names from the writers who know them best. Listen to Behind the Lines podcast.

Become a Member

“The team is progressing well and having finished 9th in Dubai and 8th in Sydney,” Eddy said following his selection. “There is a strong desire to build on these achievements.

“It will be a big challenge and everyone will need to be on top form for each game.”

Ireland are currently ranked in 9th spot in the overall rankings.

Ireland Women’s 7s squad for Las Vegas 7s

Ashleigh Baxter (Cooke / Ulster)
Claire Keohane (UL Bohemians / Munster)
Katie Fitzhenry (Blackrock College RFC / Leinster)
Stacey Flood (Railway Union / Leinster)
Alison Miller (Old Belvedere / Connacht)
Lucy Mulhall (Rathdrum RFC / Leinster) (captain)
Amee-Leigh Murphy-Crowe (Railway Union / Munster)
Sene Naoupu (Aylesford Bulls)
Audrey O’Flynn (Ireland Sevens Programme)
Hannah Tyrrell (Old Belvedere / Leinster)
Susan Vaughan (Railway Union / Leinster)
Megan Williams (Ireland Sevens Programme)

-Additional reporting by Emma Duffy

Subscribe to The42 Rugby Show podcast here:

About the author:

Steve O'Rourke

Read next: