This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 10 °C Wednesday 16 October, 2019

Trimble to miss out on World Cup as Schmidt includes Furlong and Cave

The42 understands that Ireland have opted for three tighthead props and only two scrum-halves.

ANDREW TRIMBLE LOOKS set to miss out on being named in Ireland’s final World Cup squad, while head coach Joe Schmidt appears to have made two unexpected inclusions in Tahdg Furlong and Darren Cave.

The42 understands that Schmidt has opted for six players in the back three, with Trimble and Felix Jones omitted and Tommy Bowe, Dave Kearney, Keith Earls, Luke Fitzgerald, Rob Kearney and Simon Zebo preferred.

IrelandÕs Andrew Trimble Trimble looks to have been left out.

The42 also believes the inclusion of Ulster centre Cave has come at the expense of a third scrum-half, with Conor Murray and Eoin Reddan set to travel.

Schmidt looks to have opted for only five props, namely Cian Healy, Jack McGrath, Mike Ross, Tadhg Furlong and Nathan White. Michael Bent’s versatility has been overlooked, while Marty Moore’s foot injury has cost him a place.

It is expected that Schmidt will use 22-year-old Furlong – who made his debut against Wales last weekend – as loosehead cover in the event that Cian Healy is still on the comeback trail during Ireland’s opening pool games.

Rory Best, Sean Cronin and Richardt Strauss appear to have been selected as the hookers.

IrelandÕs Tadhg Furlong

Paul O’Connell, Devin Toner, Iain Henderson and Donnacha Ryan are set to be named in the second row, while the established quintet of Jamie Heaslip, Sean O’Brien, Peter O’Mahony, Chris Henry and Jordi Murphy look likely to the back rows.

Johnny Sexton, Ian Madigan and Paddy Jackson are set to be the out-halves named by Schmidt tomorrow, while Robbie Henshaw and Jared Payne will continue their centre partnership at the global tournament.

Schmidt is scheduled to officially name his final 31-man squad tomorrow afternoon.

Possible Ireland World Cup squad:

Props: Cian Healy, Jack McGrath, Mike Ross, Nathan White, Tadhg Furlong

Hookers: Rory Best, Sean Cronin, Richardt Strauss

Locks: Paul O’Connell, Devin Toner, Iain Henderson, Donnacha Ryan

Back rows: Jamie Heaslip, Sean O’Brien, Peter O’Mahony, Chris Henry, Jordi Murphy

Halfbacks: Conor Murray, Eoin Reddan, Johnny Sexton, Ian Madigan, Paddy Jackson

Centres: Robbie Henshaw, Darren Cave, Jared Payne.

Outside backs: Rob Kearney, Tommy Bowe, Simon Zebo, Keith Earls, Luke Fitzgerald, Dave Kearney.

Munster and Leinster set up winner-takes-all Interpro finale

Analysis: Should this have been a penalty against Paul O’Connell?

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Murray Kinsella

Read next: