# Strong XV
Here's Joe Schmidt's Ireland team to face the Barbarians tomorrow
Colm O’Shea gets a shot at the 13 shirt, while Ian Madigan is given the nod at out-half.

JOE SCHMIDT HAS named a relatively experienced Ireland XV for tomorrow’s clash with the Barbarians in Thomond Park.

Leinster’s Ian Madigan will direct play from the out-half position, with Ulster’s Paddy Jackson having been included on the bench. Eoin Reddan partners his provincial teammate Madigan in the halfback pairing.

IrelandÕs   Jamie Heaslip Inpho / Billy Stickland Jamie Heaslip captains the Ireland XV for the clash with the Baa-Baas. Inpho / Billy Stickland / Billy Stickland

The centre partnership of uncapped Colm O’Shea and Ulsterman Luke Marshall is an intriguing one, the latter having last featured for Ireland in the November Tests last year before suffering with injury problems.

Craig Gilroy’s sublime form in the Guinness Pro12 earns him a start on the left wing, and he’s joined by Rob and Dave Kearney in the back three.

Jamie Heaslip captains the team from number eight in a back row that also includes Ulster pair Robbie Diack and Chris Henry. The return of Henry to an Ireland jersey, even in a non-cap game, is hugely welcome after his heart scare late last year.

Devin Toner and the in-form Dan Tuohy make up the second row, while Schmidt has gone for an all-Leinster front row of Jack McGrath, Richardt Strauss and the uncapped Tadhg Furlong.

The replacements bench includes Cian Kelleher, recent winner of the Ulster Bank League Rising Star award and a man who made his Leinster debut on the last day of their Pro12 season.

Stuart McCloskey, Noel Reid, Rhys Ruddock and Jack Conan are missing from the matchday squad, having been named in the 27-man group at the start of the week.

Ireland XV v Barbarians:

15. Rob Kearney
14. Dave Kearney
13. Colm O’Shea
12. Luke Marshall
11. Craig Gilroy
10. Ian Madigan
9. Eoin Reddan

1. Jack McGrath
2. Richardt Strauss
3. Tadhg Furlong
4. Devin Toner
5. Dan Tuohy
6. Robbie Diack
7. Chris Henry
8. Jamie Heaslip (captain)


16. Rob Herring
17. Michael Bent
18. Mike Ross
19. Ben Marshall
20. Jordi Murphy
21. Luke McGrath
22. Paddy Jackson
23. Cian Kelleher

The Barbarians have drafted in a Leinster legend to face Ireland

Ulster duo back in green, minutes for Mads and more talking points as Schmidt names Ireland XV

Munster confident out-half Ian Keatley will step up in Pro12 finale

Your Voice
Readers Comments