This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 20 °C Tuesday 16 July, 2019

Ireland's women defeated in crucial Euro 2013 qualifier

Two last-gasp Scotland goals broke the visitors’ hearts, despite their brave performance.

Denise O'Sullivan scored for Ireland.
Denise O'Sullivan scored for Ireland.

Scotland 2-1 Ireland

THE IRELAND WOMEN’S soccer team endured a disappointing 2-1 loss to Scotland at Tynecastle this afternoon.

The visitors took an early lead in the game, with Denise O’Sullivan scoring a header after only four minutes.

Ireland subsequently survived a number of scares, with Kim Little missing a penalty on the hour mark for the hosts.

However, Scotland’s pressure eventually told, as Rhonda Jones headed in from a corner with only four minutes remaining.

Christie Murray then capitalised on some sloppy Irish passing, producing a powerful 30-yard shot that sailed over goalkeeper Emma Byrne’s head and into the net.

Ireland had started the day behind France and two points ahead of both Wales and Scotland in their qualifying group, but now face an uphill task to qualify.

SCOTLAND: G. Fay (Celtic); R. Jones (Celtic), R. Corsie (Glasgow City), I. Dieke (Vittsjo GIK), R. Small (Forfar Farmington); S. Grant (Celtic), J. Love (Glasgow City), M. Snedden (Celtic), H. Lauder (Aland United); K. Little (Arsenal), J. Ross (Glasgow City),

Subs: L. Ross (Glasgow City) for Grant (11 mins), C. Murray (Glasgow City) for Love (61 mins), L. Evans (Glasgow City) for Lauder (65 mins),

REP OF IRELAND: E. Byrne (Arsenal); S. Perry (Chelsea), M. Campbell (Raheny United), L. Quinn (Peamount United), MT. McDonnell (Chicago Red Stars); S. Smyth (Amazon Grimstad FK) C. Grant (Arsenal), N. Fahey (Arsenal); A. O’Gorman (Doncaster Belles), D. O’Sullivan (Cork), JA Russell (Doncaster Belles).

Subs: M. O’Brien (Chicago Red Eleven) for Russell (59 mins), F. O’Sullivan (Soyaux ASJ) for D. O’Sullivan, R. Littlejohn (Liverpool) for Smyth (88 mins)

Read: Martyn Irvine secures Olympic track cycling qualification>

Read: Column: What’s loyalty got to do with it?>

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Paul Fennessy

Read next: