This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 5 °C Wednesday 21 November, 2018

18 All-Ireland senior medals between 4 GAA legends that entered Hall of Fame today

The ceremony took place in Croke Park this morning.

KERRY’S JACK O’SHEA, the Offaly duo of Matt Connor and Pádraig Horan, and Kilkenny’s Frank Cummins were all inducted into the GAA’s Hall of Fame today.

GAALegends O'Shea, Connor, Horan and Cummins were all honoured. today. Source: INPHO

At a ceremony at the GAA Museum in Croke Park today, the quartet were honoured as the period from 1980 to 1984 was covered.

The quartet are now in an exclusive group of 46 legends of Gaelic Games who make up the Hall of Fame at the museum.

The players enjoyed an incredible career as they claimed a combined total of 18 All-Ireland senior medals and 14 All-Star awards.

Matt Connor and Jack O'Shea Matt Connor and Jack O'Shea at the GAA Museum Hall of Fame today. Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

All-Ireland senior medals

  • Jack O’Shea (7) – 1978, 1979, 1980, 1981, 1984, 1985, 1986.
  • Matt Connor (1) – 1982.
  • Pádraig Horan (2) – 1981, 1985.
  • Frank Cummins (8) – 1967, 1969, 1972, 1974, 1975, 1979, 1982, 1983.

All-Star awards

  • Jack O’Shea (6) – 1980, 1981, 1982, 1983, 1984, 1985.
  • Matt Connor (3) – 1980, 1982, 1983.
  • Pádraig Horan (1) – 1985.
  • Frank Cummins (4) – 1971, 1972, 1982, 1983.

Padraig Horan and Frank Cummins Padraig Horan and Frank Cummins at the GAA Museum Hall of Fame today. Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

GAA President Aogán Ó Fearghail, congratulated the players on being named on the prestigious list.

“I am delighted to welcome these four outstanding GAA ambassadors into our GAA Museum Hall of Fame.

“These four individuals illuminated their respective codes, setting consistently high standards that thrilled crowds and have left an enduring legacy on our games.

“I congratulate Pádraig, Frank, Matt and Jack and I hope this acknowledgement helps shine a light on their efforts over many years to generations who were not lucky enough to witness first hand the skills they brought to bear on the game.”

Subscribe to The42 podcasts here:

eir Sport to broadcast live club championship games in Donegal and Limerick next month

Cork appoint McCarthy as new senior football boss on three-year term

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel