Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 9°C Monday 10 May 2021

Bernard Brogan returns for Dublin as Gavin makes two changes for league showdown

The full-forward missed the semi-final win over Monaghan through injury.

Image: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

Updated 22.30pm

JIM GAVIN HAS made two changes to his side for Sunday’s Allianz Division 1 league final against Cork at Croke Park.

Full-forward Bernard Brogan returns while Ross O’Carroll is included at full-back after missing the semi-final win over Monaghan through injury.

Meanwhile, Jamie O’Sullivan replaces the injured Brian O’Driscoll for Cork in the only change from the side that defeated Donegal at the semi-final stage.

O’Sullivan was named to start in that game but was a late withdrawal with Tom Clancy (Clonakilty) coming in to replace him before throw-in.

For Sunday’s Croke Park clash, O’Sullivan is named at right half-back with his Bishopstown clubmate Conor Dorman switching in to centre-back.

O’Driscoll, who has been suffering a hamstring injury, is named on the bench. Injury continues to rule out Ian Maguire, Ruairi Deane, Donncha O’Connor and Patrick Kelly for Cork.

Only four of the team that started in Cork’s last league final meeting with Dublin back in 2011 are selected here. Ken O’Halloran, O’Sullivan, captain Michael Shields and Fintan Goold are the players in question.

Daniel Goulding and Paul Kerrigan, named on the bench on Sunday, started in that game as did the injured duo Kelly and O’Connor.

Michael Shields and Paddy Kelly celebrate Michael Shields and Patrick Kelly celebrating Cork's 2011 league final success. Source: Cathal Noonan


1 Stephen Cluxton (Parnells)

2 Philip McMahon (Ballymun Kickhams)
3 Rory O’Carroll (Kilmacud Crokes
4 Jonny Cooper (Na Fianna)

5 James McCarthy (Ballymun Kickhams)
6 Cian O’Sullivan (Kilmacud Crokes)
7 Jack McCaffrey (Clontarf)

8 Denis Bastick (Templeogue Synge Street)
9 Brian Fenton (Raheny)
10 Paul Flynn (Fingallians)
11 Ciaran Kilkenny (Castleknock)
12 Diarmuid Connolly (St Vincents)

13 Dean Rock (Ballymun Kickhams)
14 Kevin McManamon (St Judes)
15 Bernard Brogan (Oliver Plunketts Eoghan Ruaidh)


1. Ken O’Halloran (Bishopstown)

2. Tom Clancy (Clonakilty)
3. Michael Shields (St. Finbarr’s)
4. James Loughrey (Mallow)

5. Jamie O’Sullivan (Bishopstown)
6. Conor Dorman (Bishopstown)
7. Tomás Clancy (Fermoy)

8. Eoin Cadogan (Douglas)
9. Fintan Goold (Macroom)

10. Kevin O’Driscoll (Tadhg MacCarthaigh)
11. John O’Rourke (Carbery Rangers)
12. Colm O’Driscoll (Tadhg MacCarthaigh)

13. Colm O’Neill (Ballyclough)
14. Mark Collins (Castlehaven)
15. Brian Hurley (Castlehaven)

16. Paddy O’Shea (St. Vincent’s)
17. Stephen O’Donoghue (Ballincollig)
18. Noel Galvin (Ballincollig)
19. Stephen Cronin (Nemo Rangers)
20. Brian O’Driscoll (Tadhg MacCarthaigh)
21. Daniel Goulding (Éire Óg)
22. Paul Kerrigan (Nemo Rangers)
23. Donal Óg Hodnett (O’Donovan Rossa)
24. John Hayes (Carbery Rangers)
25. Barry O’Driscoll (Nemo Rangers)

Not many senior inter-county footballers have won a club hurling title with their manager

Cork 2010 All-Ireland winner out of retirement and returns to Rebels squad

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: