Donal Vaughan and Barry Moran are back in the Mayo team this weekend. INPHO/Donall Farmer
Team news

Horan makes five changes for Mayo’s clash with the Dubs

The Galway and Westmeath teams have also been named for their Division 2 clash next Sunday.

Updated: 19.40

MAYO BOSS JAMES Horan has rang the changes ahead of Saturday night’s clash with Dublin in Croke Park.

Horan’s side face their first away game in Division 1 of this season’s Allianz Football League against Jim Gavin’s Dublin side.

And as they seek to bounce back from their one-point defeat to Tyrone, Horan has drafted in five new players for Saturday’s game from the side that lost to the Red Hands.

Kenneth O’Malley gets the nod to start in goal, Donal Vaughan comes into defence at centre-back while Jason Gibbons and Barry Moran form a new midfield partnership.

Enda Varley starts in attack at corner-forward in the final change to the Connacht champions side as David Clarke, Tom Cunniffe, Kevin Keane, Seamus O’Shea and Cathal Freeman all drop to the bench.

Positional switches see Chris Barrett move to corner-back, Lee Keegan shifted to wing-back and Aidan O’Shea stationed at centre-foward.

O’Shea will joins his Dublin IT Sigerson Cup winning colleague Jason Doherty in the forward line while the attacking trio of Cillian O’Connor, Alan Dillon and Andy Moran continue to be ruled out due to injury.

MAYO: Kenneth O’Malley (Ballinrobe); Chris Barrett (Belmullet), Ger Cafferkey (Ballina Stephenites), Keith Higgins (Ballyhaunis); Lee Keegan (Westport), Donal Vaughan (Ballinrobe), Colm Boyle (Davitt’s); Jason Gibbons (Ballintubber), Barry Moran (Castlebar Mitchels); Kevin McLoughlin (Knockmore), Aidan O’Shea (Breaffy), Richie Feeney (Castlebar Mitchels); Enda Varley (Garrymore), Jason Doherty (Burrishoole), Michael Conroy (Davitt’s).
Subs: David Clarke (Ballina Stephenites), Keith Rogers (Ballaghaderreen), Tom Cunniffe (Castlebar Mitchels), Kevin Keane (Westport), Michael Walsh (Ardnaree), Danny Geraghty (Ballintubber), Seamus O’Shae (Breaffy), Alan Freeman (Aghamore), Cathal Carolan (Crossmolina), Cathal Freeman (Aghamore), Darren Coen (Hollymount/Carramore).

Galway manager Alan Mulholland has made four changes for their Division 2 tie against Westmeath on Sunday as they seek to bounce back from last week’s loss to Louth.

Gary O’Donnell comes in at right half-back, Anthony Griffin is brought in at midfield, John O’Brien is drafted in at wing-forward while Mark Hehir will start at corner-forward. The four players to make way are Conor Sweeney, Michael Martin, Sean Armstrong and Danny Cummins.

GALWAY: John Egan (St James); Johnny Duane (St James), Finian Hanley (Salthill-Knocknacarra), Joss Moore (Mountbellew-Moylough); Gary O’Donnell (Tuam Stars), Gary Sice (Corofin), Gary Sweeney (Mountbellew-Moylough); Niall Coleman (Annaghdown), Anthony Griffin (Leitir Mór); John O’Brien (Clifden), Paul Conroy (St James), Sean Denvir (Michéal Breathnach); Eoin Concannon (St James), Michael Meehan (Caltra), Mark Hehir (Milltown).

Opponents Westmeath have made two changes for their trip to Tuam for this game. Manager Pat Flanagan has brought in Doron Harte for Paul Sharry at centre-back while Ciarán Curley replaces the injured Dessie Dolan in attack.

Harte was suspended for the Longford game, and replaces Sharry, who like Dolan, is injured. Dolan injured his hamstring in Leinster’s recent M Donnelly Interprovincial Championship semi-final win over Connacht.

WESTMEATH: Gary Connaughton (Tubberclair); Mark McCallon (Garrycastle), Kieran Gavin (Mullingar Shamrocks), Kevin Maguire (Caulry); Michael Curley (Mullingar Shamrocks), Doran Harte (Garrycastle), James Dolan (Garrycastle); Denis Cooroon (Mullingar Shamrocks), John Heslin (St Loman’s); Ger Egan (Tyrrellspass), Callum McCormack (Maryland), Kieran Martin (Maryland); Ronan Foley (Coralstown/Kinnegad), Ciaran Curley (Mullingar Shamrocks), Denis Glennon (Tyrrellspass).

Chatting with Kilkenny: Dubs star on the AFL, hurling and his love of GAA

VIDEO: Gaelic football tekkers from Marty Clarke’s old school team