This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 9 °C Thursday 17 October, 2019

Fitzgibbon Cup Group B: Coughlan stars in CIT success

Newtownshandrum attacker Jamie Coughlan raised two green flags as Cork IT triumphed tonight against Carlow IT.

Jamie Coughlan starred for CIT tonight.
Jamie Coughlan starred for CIT tonight.
Image: INPHO/Donall Farmer.

Cork IT 4-15
Carlow IT 1-10

Cork IT booked their place in the quarter-finals of this year’s Fitzgibbon Cup tonight in Bishopstown.

Last year’s finalists were too strong for Carlow IT and as this is a three-team group, they have already qualified after their first game in the competition.

Waterford IT got the better of Carlow IT last week and tonight’s result ensures they will also contest the last eight.

Cork IT travel to face Waterford IT next Tuesday night in a game that will determine who tops the group and gets the home quarter-final, and which side will face an away trip in the knockout stages.

Jamie Coughlan, who is soon due to undergo a hip operation, registered 2-2 for Cork IT in tonight’s game. His first-half goal, along with one from Michael O’Sullivan, helped propel the winners into a 2-8 to 1-4 half-time lead.

Padraig Walsh netted for Carlow IT in the opening half but Cork IT maintained their dominance in the second-half with Daire Lordan, Lorcan McLoughlin and David Drake striking points while Coughlan and John Cronin added further goals.

Scorers for Cork IT: Jamie Coughlan 2-2, Daire Lordan 0-4 (0-2f), Lorcan McLoughlin (0-2f), David Drake 0-3 each, John Cronin, Michael O’Sullivan 1-0 each, Andy Walsh, JM O’Callaghan, Bill Cooper 0-1 each.
Scorers for Carlow IT: Stephen Maher 0-8 (0-7f, 0-1 65), Padraig Walsh 1-0, O Walsh, T Carroll, N Foyle 0-1 each.

CORK IT: Stephen Nyhan (Courcey Rovers, Cork); Alan Dennehy (Charleville, Cork), Brian O’Sullivan (Fermoy, Cork), Stephen O’Halloran (Sixmilebridge, Clare); P O’Connor (Tubber, Clare), Lorcan McLoughlin (Kanturk, Cork), Tomas Lawrence (Brian Dillons, Cork); Jamie Coughlan (Newtownshandrum, Cork), Nicky Kelly (Mayfield, Cork); John Cronin (Lisgoold, Cork), David Drake (Carrigaline, Cork), Andy Walsh (Killeagh, Cork); Daire Lordan (Courcey Rovers, Cork), Michael O’Sullivan (Tracton, Cork), Bill Cooper (Youghal, Cork).

Subs: Stephen Daniels (De La Salle, Waterford) for Lawrence (17), Niall O’Doherty (Grenagh, Cork) for Kelly (49), Eoin Concannon (Galway) for Walsh (55), JM O’Callaghan (Argideen Rangers, Cork) for Cooper (58).

CARLOW IT: PJ Ryan (Kilkenny); David Buckley (Tipperary), Danny Kenny (Kilkenny), Barry Harding (Offaly); Sean Gardiner (Offaly), Conor Fogarty (Kilkenny), Peter Hally (Tipperary); Ian Byrne (Wexford), Ollie Walsh (Kilkenny); Padraig Walsh (Carlow), Joe Carroll (Tipperary), Stephen Maher (Laois), Tom Carroll (Offaly), Conor Kenny (Tipperary), Paul Buggy (Kilkenny).

Subs: Neil Foyle (Laois) for Buggy (34), Cathal English (Kilkenny) for Carroll (38), Maurice Sexton (Cork) for Walsh (52).

Referee: Shane Hourigan (Limerick).

Fitzgibbon Cup Group A: Draws the order of the day

Fitzgibbon Cup Group C: UCD book quarter-final spot

Fitzgibbon Cup Group D: DIT defeat UL

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel