Dublin: 16°C Tuesday 21 September 2021

Canning returns for Galway, seven changes for Cork and Limerick, and Bennett brothers in for Waterford

The team news ahead of this weekend’s Allianz Hurling League action, with Tipperary also ringing the changes.

Galway's Joe Canning pictured ahead of his side's win against Limerick at Pearse Stadium last weekend.
Galway's Joe Canning pictured ahead of his side's win against Limerick at Pearse Stadium last weekend.
Image: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

Updated May 21st 2021, 11:30 PM

JOE CANNING HAS been selected at midfield in the Galway team that will take on Tipperary in the National Hurling League at Semple Stadium tomorrow (1.30pm).

Canning, who came off the bench in last weekend’s win against Limerick, will be making his first start since he sustained a concussion in last November’s All-Ireland semi-final defeat to John Kiely’s side.

With Galway boss Shane O’Neill making nine changes for the trip to Thurles, five-time All-Star Daithi Burke returns at full-back. 

Darren Morrissey, TJ Brennan and Aidan Harte also come into the Tribesmen’s backline, Johnny Coen will form a fresh midfield partnership with Canning, while Jason Flynn, Conor Cooney and Kevin Cooney are named in the attack. 

Sean Loftus, Gearoid McInerney, Jack Fitzpatrick, Fintan Burke, David Burke, Cathal Mannion, Evan Niland, Niall Burke and Jarlath Mannion all drop out.

Tipperary boss Liam Sheedy has made five changes from last week, with Brian Hogan, Robert Byrne, Dan McCormack, Paddy Cadell and Dillon Quirke all getting the nod. 

Meanwhile, Cork have made seven changes for Sunday’s game against Westmeath at Páirc Uí Chaoimh [throw-in 3pm].

They hand a starting place in goal to Ger Collins, bring in Eoin Cadogan and Sean O’Donoghue to their defence while Daire Connery is an addition at midfield.

The new faces in attack are Conor Cahalane, Shane Barrett and Alan Connolly.

declan-hannon-and-manager-john-kiely-celebrate-with-the-liam-maccarthy Declan Hannon is in from the start for John Kiely's Limerick. Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

Limerick boss John Kiely, likewise, shuffled his pack with seven changes from last weekend’s defeat to Limerick, as they face Waterford at Walsh Park on Sunday [throw-in 3.45pm, live on TG4].

Sean Finn, Mark Quinlan, Declan Hannon, Darragh O’Donovan, Tom Morrissey, Conor Boylan and Aaron Gillane are all in from the start this time, with Aaron Costello, Diarmaid Byrnes (suspension), Barry Nash, William O’Donoghue, Brian O’Grady, Gearoid Hegarty and Cathal O’Neill all dropping out.

All-Ireland winning captain Hannon returns to the side at centre-half back, while Garryspillane man Quinlan makes his league debut in the half-back line and Aaron Gillane is in from the get go.

The Déise have also shown their hand for the clash, a repeat of last December’s All-Ireland final. The three Bennett brothers from Ballysaggart, Shane, Kieran and Stephen, start together for Liam Cahill’s side for the first time in the league.

Galway (v Tipperary)

1. Eanna Murphy

2. Darren Morrissey, 3. Daithi Burke, 4. TJ Brennan

5. Adrian Tuohey, 6. Padraic Mannion, 7. Aidan Harte

8. Joe Canning, 9. Johnny Coen

10. Joseph Cooney, 11. Jason Flynn, 12. Conor Cooney

13. Brian Concannon, 14. Kevin Cooney, 15. Conor Whelan


16. Darach Fahy
17. Jack Fitzpatrick
18. Sean Loftus
19. Fintan Burke
20. Gearoid McInerney
21. Diarmuid Kilcommins
22. Jarlath Mannion
23. Niall Burke
24. Evan Niland
25. Cathal Mannion
26. Jack Hastings

Tipperary (v Galway)

1. Brian Hogan (Lorrha-Dorrha)

2. Cathal Barrett (Holycross-Ballycahill), 3. Padraic Maher (Thurles Sarsfields), 4. Barry Heffernan (Nenagh Éire Óg)

5. Robert Byrne (Portroe), 6. Seamus Kennedy (St Mary’s Clonmel), 7. Ronan Maher (Thurles Sarsfields).

8. Alan Flynn (Kiladangan), 9. Paddy Caddell (JK Bracken’s)

10. Dan McCormack (Borris-Ileigh), 11.Noel McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney), 12. Dillon Quirke (Clonoulty-Rossmore)

 13. John O’Dwyer (Killenaule), 14. Jason Forde (Silvermines), 15. John McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney).

tipp Source: Tipperary GAA.

Cork (v Westmeath)

1. Ger Collins (Ballinhassig)

2. Sean O’Leary-Hayes (Mildeton), 3. Eoin Cadogan (Douglas), 4. Sean O’Donoghue (Inniscarra).

5. Tim O’Mahony (Newtownshandrum), 6. Robert Downey (Glen Rovers), 7. Niall Cashman (Blackrock).

8. Darragh Fitzgibbon (Charleville), 9. Daire Connery (Na Piarsaigh).

10. Conor Cahalane (St Finbarr’s), 11. Patrick Horgan (Glen Rovers), 12. Shane Barrett (Blarney).

13. Alan Cadogan (Douglas), 14. Alan Connolly (Blackrock), 15. Luke Meade (Newcestown).

Limerick (v Waterford) 

1. Nicky Quaid (Effin)

Be part
of the team

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership.

Become a Member

2. Sean Finn (Bruff), 3. Dan Morrissey (Ahane), 4. Richie English (Doon)

5. Mark Quinlan (Garryspillane), 6. Declan Hannon (Adare) Captain, 7. Kyle Hayes (Kildimo/Pallaskenry)

8. Cian Lynch (Patrickswell), 9. Darragh O’Donovan (Doon)

10. Tom Morrissey (Ahane), 11. David Reidy (Dromin-Athlacca), 12. Conor Boylan (Na Piarsaigh)

13. Aaron Gillane (Patrickswell), 14. Seamus Flanagan (Feohanagh-Castlemahon), 15. Peter Casey (Na Piarsaigh)


16. Barry Hennessy (Kilmallock)
17. Adrian Breen (Na Piarsaigh)
18. Ronan Connolly (Adare)
19. Aaron Costello (Kilmallock)
20. Colin Coughlan (Ballybrown)
21. David Dempsey (Na Piarsaigh)
22. Robbie Hanley (Kilmallock)
23. Barry Nash (South Liberties)
24. William O’Donoghue (Na Piarsiagh)
25. Cathal O’Neill (Crecora/Manister)
26. Pat Ryan (Doon)

Waterford (v Limerick)

1. Billy Nolan (Roanmore)

2. Calum Lyons (Ballyduff Lower), 3. Conor Prunty (Abbeyside) Captain, 4. Seamus Keating (Ardmore)

5. Shane Bennett (Ballysaggart), 6. Iarlaith Daly (Lismore), 7. Kieran Bennett (Ballysaggart)

8. Jamie Barron (Fourmilewater), 9. Austin Gleeson (Mount Sion)

10. Jack Fagan (De La Salle), 11. Conor Gleeson (Fourmilewater), 12. Jake Dillion (De La Salle)

13. Dessie Hutchison (Ballygunner), 14. Stephen Bennett (Ballysaggart), 15. Jack Prendergast (Lismore)

- reporting from Emma Duffy, Fintan O’Toole and Paul Dollery

Source: The42 Rugby Weekly/SoundCloud

Bernard Jackman, Murray Kinsella and Gavan Casey look back on two cracking weekend interpros, look forward to the Champions Cup final, and discuss the growth of the sport in non-rugby strongholds such as Tallaght which still needs more institutional support.

About the author:

The42 Team

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel