This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 5 °C Monday 17 December, 2018

Super subs strike goals for Limerick to see off Clare in Munster minor hurling clash

Josh Ryan and Cian Magnier Flynn scored the vital goals for Limerick tonight.

Josh Ryan fired home a goal for Limerick tonight.
Josh Ryan fired home a goal for Limerick tonight.
Image: James Crombie/INPHO

Limerick 2-11
Clare 1-8

Eoin Brennan reports from Gaelic Grounds

IT HAD TO take two late goals from Limerick substitutes Josh Ryan and Cian Magnier Flynn to finally brush off the stubborn challenge of neighbours Clare in the Gaelic Grounds this evening and return to a seventh consecutive Munster minor hurling semi-final.

With the sides level at the break in front of an attendance of 2,240, the 2013-14 Munster champions Limerick were expected to take full advantage of a strong breeze that blew towards the city but in a low-scoring derby battle, they found their opponents difficult to shake.

The fresh legs of Abbey CBS’ All-Ireland winner Ryan and Magnier Flynn finally paid dividends however as they struck in the 52nd and 62nd minutes respectively to join Cork in the last four.

All that after Clare couldn’t have asked for a better start when Ian Murray pounced on some sloppy defending to pull to the net after only 90 seconds of the throw-in.

However, they failed to build on that boost as it was the home side who responded better with six of the next seven points by the turn of the second quarter, thanks to five different scorers to take a 0-6 to 1-1 advantage.

Josh Adams and Sean Kennedy Limerick's Josh Adams tries to stop Clare's Sean Kennedy Source: James Crombie/INPHO

Clare would eventually break a 21 minute drought to finish the half on the front-foot however as points from freetaker Sean O’Loughlin (2) and the impressive Conor Tierney ensured that the Banner would remain on level terms at 1-4 to 0-7 by half-time.

With Kilmaley duo O’Loughlin and lively replacement Aidan Kennedy cancelled out two eye-catching points from Limerick’s Darragh Carroll (sideline) and centre-back Ciaran O’Connor, the sides were still locked together as the tie entered the final quarter.

Conor Tierney and Conor McNicholas Clare's Conor Tierney grabs the ball ahead of Limerick's Conor McNicholas Source: James Crombie/INPHO

However, a more clinical Limerick would eventually click into gear in the final ten minutes with two decisive sucker-punch goals that clinched a place in the last four and forced Clare into the backdoor route, with a final chance to join their neighbours against the losers of Tipperary and Waterford at the end of the month.

Scorers for Limerick: Mark O’Dwyer 0-3 (0-3f); Josh Ryan, Cian Magnier Flynn 1-0 each; Conor Boylan, Kyle Hayes 0-2 each; Cal McCarthy, Brian Ryan, Darragh Carroll (1 s/l), Ciaran O’Connor 0-1 each.

Scorers for Clare: Sean O’Loughlin 0-5 (0-5f); Ian Murray 1-0; Aidan Kennedy 0-2; Conor Tierney 0-1.

Tadhg Connellan, David Fitzgerald, Cian McInerney and Keith White dejected after the game Dejected Clare players after tonight's game Source: James Crombie/INPHO


1. Mark O’Kelly (Croom)

2. Brian Nash (South Liberties)
3. William O’Meara (Askeaton)
4. Brian Timmons (Murroe/Boher)

5. Josh Adams (Ballybrown)
6. Ciaran O’Connor (Kilmallock)
7. Finn Hourigan (Murroe/Boher)

8. Conor Nicholas (Monaleen)
9. Cal McCarthy (Kilmallock)

10. Kyle Hayes (Kildimo/Pallaskenry)
11. Darragh Carroll (Newport)
12. Brian Egan (South Liberties)

13. Conor Boylan (Na Piarsaigh)
14. Anthony Barrett (Kilmallock)
15. Mark O’Dwyer (Monaleen)

19. Cian Magnier Flynn (Killeedy) for Barrett (HT)
23. Josh Ryan (Doon) for O’Dwyer (44)
24. David Woulfe (Kilmallock) for McCarthy (57)
17. Conor Flahive (Mungret) for Timmons (57)
20. Dan Minihan (Ahane) for O’Connor (62)


1. Killian Nugent (O’Callaghan’s Mills)

2. Cian McInerney (Inagh-Kilnamona)
3. Damien O’Loughlin (Corofin)
4. Keith White (Inagh-Kilnamona)

7. Pa Mulready (Sixmilebridge)
6. Cathal Noonan (Killanena)
5. Tobias O’Meara (Killanena)

8. Ross Hayes (Crusheen)
9. Conor Tierney (St Joseph’s Doora/Barefield)

12. Gary Cooney (O’Callaghan’s Mills)
11. David Fitzgerald (Clonlara)
10. Sean Kennedy (Kilmaley)

13. Sean O’Loughlin (Kilmaley)
14. Kieran Galvin (Clonlara)
15. Ian Murray (Bodyke)

23. Aidan Kennedy (Kilmaley) for Murray (39)
18. Sean Costelloe (Wolfe Tones) for McInerney (42, inj)
17. Tadhg Connellan (Éire Óg) for Cooney (47, inj)
21. Michael Danaher (Cratloe) for Galvin (57)

Referee: Thomas Walsh (Waterford)

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

‘It was difficult calls and difficult discussions’ – Cork boss confirms seven players cut from panel

Strong start by Cork as they defeat Waterford in Munster minor hurling opener

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: