Tuesday 7 February 2023 Dublin: 7°C
Tommy Dickson/INPHO Cork's Shane Kingston finished up with 1-2.
# Fitzgibbon Cup
Kehoe and Kingston goals see UCC into last four after dogged battle with IT Carlow
Tipperary forward Kehoe fired 2-3 from play as it finished 3-19 to 1-11 at the Mardyke.

UCC 3-19

IT Carlow 1-11

UCC PROGRESSED TO the semi-finals of the Electric Ireland Fitzgibbon Cup with victory over IT Carlow at the Mardyke on Thursday night, but the final scoreline masked what was, at times, a dogged battle.

In wet and windy conditions, UCC – the competition’s record winners, last triumphant in 2013 – were against the wind in the first half and didn’t get on the scoreboard until the 10th minute, Shane Conway replying to Richie Leahy’s opener for Carlow.

While Conway put them in front, Carlow responded strongly through Séamus Casey and Cathal Dunbar though Mark Kehoe’s 20th-minute goal looked to be a significant score.

After the attacker extricated the ball from a ruck and eased clear to finish well, the hosts were 1-4 to 0-3 in front, but Carlow reeled off with four straight points to level; Dunbar, Casey, goalkeeper Evan Rowland and Michael Redmond on target.

However, by half-time, UCC were clear again, 1-8 to 0-8 in front, as Chris O’Leary landed three long-range points.

After Carlow twice wasted point attempts early in the second half, UCC struck for a second goal as Shane Kingston came in along endline from the right and slotted home. When Mark Coleman landed a fine point on 43 minutes, they were 2-11 to 0-10 in front but Carlow got some hope as Leahy fired home following a beautiful lofted pass from Ryan Mullaney.

UCC never looked like allowing a full-blown comeback, though and Kehoe, Conway and sub Robbie O’Flynn pointed before Kehoe got his second goal at the death.

UCC face last year’s beaten finalists DCU Dóchas Éireann in the last four.

Scorers for UCC: Mark Kehoe 2-3, Shane Conway 0-6 (frees), Shane Kingston 1-2, Chris O’Leary 0-4 (frees), Robbie O’Flynn 0-2, David Griffin, Mark Coleman 0-1 each.

Scorers for IT Carlow: Séamus Casey 0-5 (frees), Richie Leahy 1-1, Cathal Dunbar 0-2, Michael Redmond, Enda Rowland (free), Ryan Mullaney 0-1 each.

UCC (Cork clubs unless stated)

1. Jack Barry (Castlelyons)

29. Killian Dwyer (Killenaule, Tipperary)
3. Eddie Gunning (Na Piarsaigh)
32. Niall O’Leary (Castlelyons)

5. Chris O’Leary (Valley Rovers)
7. Paddy O’Loughlin (Kilmallock, Limerick)
18. David Griffin (Carrigaline)

6. Eoghan Murphy (Sarsfields)
10. Mark Coleman (Blarney)

19. Colm Roche (Shamrocks, Waterford)
8. Conor Browne (James Stephens, Kilkenny)
20. Ross Donohoe (Buffers Alley, Wexford)

14. Shane Conway (Lixnaw, Kerry)
15. Shane Kingston (Douglas)
30. Mark Kehoe (Kilsheelan-Kilcash, Tipperary).


12. Robbie O’Flynn (Erin’s Own) for Donohoe (35)
24. Evan Sheehan (Na Piarsaigh) for Roche (41, injured)
4. Dara Lynch (Passage East, Waterford) for Murphy (60)
28. Dara Walsh (Éire Óg Ennis) for Kingston (60)
23. John O’Sullivan (Blackrock) for Coleman (60).

IT Carlow

1. Enda Rowland (Abbeyleix, Laois)

3. Ryan Mullaney (Castletown, Laois)
17. Ross Brown (Colligan, Waterford)
2. Shane Reck (Oylegate-Glenbrien, Wexford)

5. Michael Redmond (Rathnure, Wexford)
7. Michael Harney (Bunmahon, Waterford)
6. Jason Cleere (Bennettsbridge, Kilkenny)

9. Thomas Nolan (Drom & Inch, Tipperary)
11. Richie Leahy (Rower-Inistoge, Kilkenny)

Exclusive Six
Nations Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella’s exclusive analysis of Ireland’s Six Nations campaign this spring

Become a Member

13. Cathal Dunbar (Naomh Éanna, Wexford)
10. Seán Downey (Ballinakill, Laois)
8. Colin Dunford (Colligan, Waterford)

15. Séamus Casey (Oylegate-Glenbrien, Wexford)
14. Chris Nolan (Mount Leinster Rangers, Carlow)
12. Mark Dowling (Camross, Laois).


20. Stephen Bergin (Clough/Ballacolla, Laois) for Dowling (44)
18. Conor Langton (Clodiagh Gaels, Offaly) for Brown (60).

Referee: Fergal Horgan (Tipperary).

* Updated to state that Clodiagh Gaels is in Offaly.

Following a tough Six Nations opening defeat to England, Joe Schmidt will look to regroup against a dangerous Scotland side. This week, Murray Kinsella and Gavan Casey are joined by Bernard Jackman to assess the damage of last weekend and look ahead to the clash in Murrayfield:

The42 Rugby Weekly / SoundCloud

Subscribe to our new podcast, The42 Rugby Weekly, here:

Your Voice
Readers Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
Leave a Comment

    Leave a commentcancel