Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 3°C Thursday 15 April 2021

Keith Wood inducted into IRB Hall of Fame

The former Ireland captain has been honoured this evening.

Keith Wood in his playing days.
Keith Wood in his playing days.
Image: INPHO/Morgan Treacy

FORMER IRELAND CAPTAIN Keith Wood has been inducted into the IRB Hall of Fame.

Wood, who was capped 58 times for Ireland, is the seventh Irish player to achieve the accolade after Jack Kyle, Willie John McBride, Syd Millar, Tony O’Reilly, Mike Gibson and Ronnie Dawson.

The 42-year old scored 15 times for Ireland and captained the side on 36 occasions, appearing in three World Cups and twice touring with the British and Irish Lions.

He was also the very first winner of the IRB Player of the Year award back in 2001.

This year’s Hall of Fame class is ground-breaking as it the IRB’s list includes women players for the first time.

The full class is:

Nathalie Amiel (France), Gill Burns (England), Patty Jervey (USA), Carol Isherwood (England), Anna Richards (New Zealand), Farah Palmer (New Zealand), Keith Rowlands (Wales), Jim Greenwood (Scotland), JPR Williams (Wales), Michael Lynagh (Australia), Jo Maso (France), Keith Wood (Ireland), Ieuan Evans (Wales), Jason Leonard (England) and Bill Beaumont (England).

Be part
of the team

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership.

Become a Member

Source: World Rugby/YouTube

Chris Henry to receive specialist care after blockage of blood vessel in his brain

Here we go: The French media have got the ‘Paulie to France’ rumour mill rolling

About the author:

Steve O'Rourke

Read next: