This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 5 °C Sunday 16 December, 2018

Tipperary appoint Cahill and Connolly as new minor and U21 hurling managers

The replacements for Ken Hogan and William Maher have been confirmed.

All change: There are new minor and U21 hurling managers in Tipperary.
All change: There are new minor and U21 hurling managers in Tipperary.
Image: ©INPHO/Cathal Noonan

LIAM CAHILL AND TJ Connolly have been appointed as the new Tipperary minor and U21 hurling managers.

The changes for the Premier underage hurling positions have arisen after William Maher and Ken Hogan stepped down from their respective minor and U21 role.

Ballingarry clubman Cahill will now take the helm at minor level while Connolly from Cashel King Cormacs takes the reins of the U21′s after being a selector with Hogan in recent years in that side.

There is speculation that Hogan could now be in line for a return to senior management as the Lorrha-Dorrha clubman has been linked with the vacant Limerick and Offaly jobs in recent weeks following the departure of John Allen and Ollie Baker.

Hogan, who managed Tipp’s seniors from 2003 to 2005, took over as U21 boss in 2009 and led the side to Munster and All-Ireland titles in the first of his four seasons.

Maher had been minor manager for the past two seasons and won Munster and All-Ireland titles in 2012.

The Tipperary county board had confirmed that the minor backroom team of Brian Horgan, Martin Maher and Noel Morris had also stepped down.

Mayo boss Horan amazed by Jim Gavin’s comments over referee

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Niall Kelly

Read next: