Dublin: 23°C Sunday 25 July 2021

Dramatic late winner hands Kerry extra-time success over Cork in Munster semi-final

The sides clashed in Austin Stack Park this evening.

Kerry minor football manager Jack O'Connor.
Kerry minor football manager Jack O'Connor.
Image: James Crombie/INPHO

Updated 22.05pm

Kerry 0-16
Cork 1-12

Paul Brennan reports from Austin Stack Park

A LAST GASP point by defender Michael Foley proved the match winner for Kerry who are still Munster and All-Ireland minor football champions, but only after surviving an extra-time battle with Cork in Tralee.

A late Daniel O Duinnin goal for Cork levelled matters deep in extra-time and looked to have sent this riveting contest to a replay in front of 4,438 spectators.

But with a minute to play under Austin Stack Park’s floodlights, Foley became the hero of the hour. The win sends Kerry to a Munster final meeting with Tipperary on 5 July, as Cork’s involvement in the championship ends.

Two evenly matched sides went almost score for score in the first half, and were level at 0-5 apiece after 18 minutes before Kerry gained the initiative and edged into a 0-9 to 0-6 lead. Their ninth point came from a ‘45’ from goalkeeper Billy Courtney in the 29th minute, before Stephen Leonard’s point left just two between the team at half-time.

An early second half O Duinnin point was followed by scores from the excellent Conor Geaney and then Cormac Linnane, as Kerry held a 0-11 to 0-8 lead by the 53rd minute. O Duinnin, Leonard and then Gary Murphy raised white flags to draw Cork back level and sent the game to extra-time.

It was all Kerry in the first period, with two late Geaney points giving the champions a 0-15 to 0-12 half time lead, and with just four minutes left Kerry were set for glory.

O Duinnin, however, stole a march on an otherwise solid Kerry defence and fired in an equalising goal, but the final word went to Breen and Kerry who raided forward to kick the winner.

Scorers for Kerry: Conor Geaney 0-5 (0-3f), Cormac Linnane 0-2 (0-2f), Sean O’Shea 0-2, Gavin White, Mark O’Connor, Stephen O’Sullivan, Ronan Buckley, Graham O’Sullivan, Billy Courtney (0-1 ‘45’), Mike Breen 0-1 each.

Scorers for Cork: Daniel O Duinnin 1-3, Stephen Sherlock, Stephen Leonard 0-3 (0-2f) each, Sean McEvoy, Gary Murphy, Cathal O’Rourke 0-1 each.


1. Billy Courtney (Dr Crokes)

2. Darren Brosnan (Gneeveguilla)
3. Jason Foley (Ballydonoghue)
4. Jack Morgan (Austin Stacks)

5. Gavin White (Dr Crokes)
6. Mike Breen (Beaufort)
7. Daniel O’Brien (Glenflesk)

8. Mark O’Connor (Dingle)
9. John Mark Foley (Kilgarvan)

10. Brian O Seanachain (Ballydonoghue)
11. Bryan Sweeney (Listowel Emmets)
12. Sean O’Shea (Kenmare)

13. Stephen O’Sullivan (Templenoe)
14. Cormac Linnane (Beale)
15. Conor Geaney (Dingle)

21. Ronan Buckley (Listry) for Sweeney (5)
18. Michael Foley (Spa) for S O’Sullivan (44)
22. Darren Casey (St Mary’s) for Buckley (53)
20. Graham O’Sullivan (Dromid Pearses) for White (54)
19. Dara O’Shea (Kenmare) for Breen (57)
25. Andrew Barry (Na Gaeil) for O’Connor (58)
17. Tom O’Sullivan (Dingle) for Barry (extra-time)
13. Stephen O’Sullivan (Templenoe) for Casey (extra-time)
23. Brandon Barrett (Ardfert) for O’Shea (extra-time)
5. Gavin White (Dr Crokes) for Foley (extra-time)
6. Mike Breen (Beaufort) for O’Brien (extra-time)


1. Mark White (Clonakilty)

2. Kevin Dwyer (Macroom)
3. Tiarnan O’Connell (Clonakilty)
4. Sean Powter (Douglas) (Captain)

5. Tom Bushe (Ilen Rovers)
6. Ronan Walsh (Castlehaven)
7. Seamus Madigan (Buttevant)

8. Eoin O’Brien (Douglas)
9. Daniel O’Duinnin (Cill na Matra)

10. David Lowney (Clonakilty)
11. Shane Kingston (Douglas)
12. Sean McEvoy (Clonakilty)

13. Stephen Leonard (Ilen Rovers)
14. Gary Murphy (Castletownbere)
15. Stephen Sherlock (St. Finbarrs)

18. Nathan Walsh (Douglas) for Dwyer (27)
21. Evan Ryle (Carrigaline) for O’Brien (44)
17. Cathal O’Rourke (Carbery Rangers) for Bushe (48)
19. Conor Hughes (Canovee) for Sherlock (54)
23. Eoghan McSweeney (Knocknagree) for Lowney (58)
22. Shane O’Neill (Kildorrery) for Leonard (extra-time)
20. Conor Dennehy (St Finbarr’s) for O’Connell (extra-time)
10. David Lowney (Clonakilty) for Kingston (extra-time)

Originally published Wednesday 22.00

Big Tipperary comeback to survive Clare test and book Munster minor football final place

Donaghy clarifies reports that he is leaving work to focus on Gaelic football

About the author:

Paul Brennan

Read next: