Kerry hold on to defeat Roscommon and reach the MFC semi-finals

A first-half goal from Brian Crowley got The Kingdom rolling but the Rossies gave them a huge fight.

Kerry's Niall Sheehy and Cathal Kenny of Roscommon.
Kerry's Niall Sheehy and Cathal Kenny of Roscommon.
Image: ©INPHO/James Crombie

KERRY HAD TO hang on in the closing stages of the Minor Football Championship before emerging 1-09 to 0-11 winners.

The Kingdom got off to a fine start with points from Jack Savage and Niall Sheehy but Roscommon, through Kevin Finn and the impressive Enda Smith, soon levelled matters.

The Rossies then missed a golden goal chance when Gvin Curran saved a penalty from Diarmuid Murtagh. Sheehy made them rue the miss further he he landed a free to put Kerry ahead again.

The sides traded points, Smith for Roscommon and Cillian Fitzgerald for Kerry, but Murtagh redeemed himself somewhat by kicking two points in succession.

Fitzgerald made it five points apiece before the break but the scoring was not yet done. David Foran seized the ball when it comes down off the upright and fed wing-back Brian Crowley. His low drive was good enough for s three-pointer.

Murtagh, Kevin Finn and Ruaidhri McManus scored at the start of the second half to wipe out Kerry’s lead and came close to getting a goal of their own before Sheehy put his team clear again.

A Murtagh free tagged them back but Savage responded. Kerry were then reduced to 14 men as Sheehy picked up his second yellow card but Philip Neil from Roscommon soon followed him.

Two Savage frees gave Kerry breathing room but a Thomas Corcoran score from the placed ball, which was soon followed by another fine point, made for a tense finish.

Ultimately, the Rossies could not manufacture a clearing chance for the equaliser and Kerry won. They will face either Dublin or Monaghan in the semi finals.

Scorers for Kerry: Brian Crowley 1-0, Jack Savage 0-4 (0-4f), Niall Sheehy 0-3 (0-1f), Cillian Fitzgerald 0-2.

Scorers for Roscommon: Diarmuid Murtagh 0-4 (0-2f), Enda Smith, Thomas Corcoran (0-2f), Kevin Finn 0-2 each, Ruaidhri McManus 0-1 (0-1f).

ROSCOMMON: Shane Mannion; Philip Neilan, Dennis Barron, Cathal Kenny; Niall McInerney, Conor Hussey, Ronan Daly; Ultan Harney, Thomas Corcoran; Kieran Kilcline, Enda Smiwth, Ruaidhri McManus; Diarmuid Murtagh, Kevin Finn, Michael Gunning.

What are they
really like?

Rare insights on sport's biggest names from the writers who know them best. Listen to Behind the Lines podcast.

Become a Member

Roscommon subs: Liam Kilcline for Denis Barron, Brian Fannon for Niall McInerney, Dara Feely for Kevin Finn, Kevin Finn for Michael Gunning.

KERRY: Gavin Curran; Cathal O Lúing, Gavin Crowley, Patrick O’Connor ; Brian Crowley, Jack Barry, Greg Horan; Kieran Murphy, Ronan Murphy; David Foran, Jack Savage, Cillian Fitzgerald; Darragh Carmody, Niall Sheehy, Conor Keane.

Kerry subs: Sean Moloney for Darragh Carmody, Gary O’Sullivan for Jack Barry

Referee: David Gough (Meath)

Talking Points: Mayo v Down and Dublin v Laois, All-Ireland SFC quarter-finals

Tommy Bowe: I will have my work cut out for me getting into the team

About the author:

Patrick McCarry

Read next: