This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 18 °C Thursday 6 August, 2020

One change in Kerry attack for All-Ireland minor semi-final while Derry make three changes

Throw-in for Sunday’s curtain-raiser is 1.30pm.

Kerry manager Jack O’Connor with his players before the Sligo game. Jack O'Connor with his Kerry players before the clash with Sligo. Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

Updated 12.44pm

KERRY HAVE MADE one change to their attack for Sunday’s Electric Ireland All-Ireland minor football semi-final against Derry in Croke Park.

Michael Foley, who came on as a sub in the quarter-final win over Sligo, is named at corner-forward as Stephen O’Sullivan makes way.

Team captain Mark O’Connor – midfield on last year’s All-Ireland winning side – returns from a knee injury to be named on the bench with Dingle club mate Conor Geaney set to captain the side on Sunday.

Derry have made three changes with Callim Mullan-Young and Tiernan Flanagan returning to the side in goal and at corner-forward respectively while Francis Kearney gets the nod at full-forward.

Ben McKinless, Brian Cassidy and Barry Grant are the three players to make way.

Derry players celebrate winning Derry players celebrate winning the Ulster minor final against Cavan Source: Presseye/Andrew Paton/INPHO


1. Billy Courtney (Cr Crokes)

2. Darren Brosnan (Gneeveguilla)
3. Jason Foley (Ballydonoghue)
4. Jack Morgan (Austin Stacks)

5. Gavin White (Dr Crokes)
6. Mike Breen (Beaufort)
7. Daniel O’Brien (Glenflesk)

8. Andrew Barry (Na Gaeil)
9. John Mark Foley (Kilgarvan)

10. Brian Ó’Seanacháin (Ballydonoghue)
11. Sean O’Shea (Kenmare)
12. Brandon Barrett (Ardfert)

13. Michael Foley (Spa)
14. Bryan Sweeney (Listowel Emmets)
15.  Conor Geaney (captain) (Dingle)

Conor Geaney celebrates scoring his side's first goal Kerry forward Conor Geaney Source: Donall Farmer/INPHO

16. Eoghan O’Brien (Churchill)
17. Mark O’Connor (Dingle)
18. Stephen O’Sullivan (Templenoe)
19. Tom O’Sullivan (Dingle)
20. Ronan Buckley (Listry)
21. Graham O’Sullivan (Dromid Pearses)
22. Dara O’Shea (Kenmare)
23. Evan Cronin (Spa)
24. James Duggan (John Mitchels)

Additional Players
Jack Goulding (Ballyduff), David Shaw (Dr Crokes), Niall Collins (Listowel Emmets), Michael Reidy (Ballymacelligott), Ferdia O’Brien (Austin Stacks), David Roche (Milltown-Castlemaine)

Injured Players
Cormac Linnane (Beale), Karl Mullins (Kerins O’Rahillys), Sean Bambury (An Ghaeltacht)

Mark O'Connor lifts the trophy Mark O'Connor lifts the Munster minor football trophy. Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO


1. Callum Mullan-Young (Glen)

2. Niall Keenan (Castledawson)
3. Conor McGrogan (Newbridge)
4. Conor Maunsell (Magherafelt)

5. Oisin Duffin (Ballinderry)
6. Michael McEvoy (Magherafelt)
7. Eoghan Concannon (Steelstown)

8. Patrick Kearney (Swatragh)
9. Jack Doherty (Glen)

10. Patrick Coney (Loup)
11. Shea Downey (Lavey)
12. Conor Glass (Glen)

13. Tiernan Flanagan (Glen)
14. Francis Kearney (Swatragh)
15. Shane McGuigan (Slaughtneil)

Tiaran Flanagan celebrates scoring a goal Tiernan Flanagan is back in the Derry starting team. Source: Presseye/Andrew Paton/INPHO

16. Ben McKinless (Ballinderry)
17. Brian Cassidy (Slaughtneil)
18. Barry Grant (Ballinascreen)
19. Feargal Higgins (Dungiven)
20. Seamus Higgins (Dungiven)
21. Niall McAtamney (Swatragh)
22. Odhran McKeever (Dungiven)
23. Gearoid McLaughlin (Kilrea)
24. Peter Stuart (Bellaghy)
25. Conall Darragh (Glen)
26. Caolan Devlin (Loup)

Additional Players
Jude Diamond (Newbridge), Christopher Downey (Bellaghy), Michael Lynch (Magherafelt), Conor McGovern (Ballinascreen), Andrew Moore (Steelstown), Michael Mullan (Drumsurn), Niall Smyth (Dungiven)

Tralee roots, professional sport in Oz, battling injuries, Cork workmates and back as a Kerry duo

Tiernan McCann free to face Kerry as proposed 8-week ban thrown out

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: