Donall Farmer/INPHO Kerry's Conor Cox in action against Tipperary's Darragh Kearney.
# Kingdom Triumph
Kerry book Munster junior final place with eight-point win over Tipperary
Thomas Hickey and Dan O’Donoghue hit the net for Kerry.

Kerry 2-13
Tipperary 1-8

Jackie Cahill reports from Semple Stadium, Thurles

JEFF O’DONOGHUE INSPIRED Kerry to victory against Tipperary in this afternoon’s Munster junior football semi-final, as the holders survived a second-half scare before registering a comfortable eight-point win.

Dean McEnroe’s 34th-minute goal handed Tipperary the lead for the only time in the game, 1-5 to 1-4, but Kerry came roaring back with five unanswered points.

Dan O’Donoghue’s goal midway through the second half killed the game as a contest and it was a procession from there for last year’s beaten All-Ireland finalist, who will meet Cork in the provincial decider on 1 July.

Jeff O’Donoghue was instrumental in this win, with his four points split between both halves.

He was also the creator of both goals, finished brilliantly by Thomas Hickey and former All-Ireland minor medallist Dan O’Donoghue.

The first half was marred by a sickening clash between Kerry’s Tadhg Morley and Tipp’s Alan O’Riordan, with O’Riordan stretchered off.

Alan O'Riordan is taken from the field with an injury Donall Farmer / INPHO Tipperary's Alan O'Riordan is stretchered off after suffering an injury. Donall Farmer / INPHO / INPHO

Morley was substituted at half-time and the first half ended with seven minutes of stoppage time.

At the break, Kerry were 1-4 to 0-5 in front, Hickey shooting home the 21st minute goal after the Kingdom broke from turnover ball.

Hickey had earlier been denied by a smart close-range save by Tipp goalkeeper Gearóid Slattery, who saved two penalties in the quarter-final victory over Waterford.

Ger Hally went close for Tipp at the other end but even when the Premier County did break through for McEnroe’s goal, they couldn’t push on as Kerry upped the pace.

Midfield dominance paved the way for this impressive win and the winners had seven different scorers.

Aldo Matassa with James Walsh Donall Farmer / INPHO Kerry's James Walsh in action against Tipperary's Aldo Matassa. Donall Farmer / INPHO / INPHO

Scorers for Kerry: Thomas Hickey 1-2 (0-2f), Jeff O’Donoghue 0-4, Dan O’Donoghue 1-0, Alan O’Donoghue 0-3, Conor Cox 0-2, James Walsh & Liam Carey 0-1 each.

Scorers for Tipperary: Kevin Fox 0-4 (3f), Dean McEnroe 1-0, Aldo Matassa & Dean Lonergan (1f, 1 45) 0-2 each.


1. Shane Murphy (Kilcummin)

2. Dan O’Donoghue (Spa)
3. Jack McGuire (Listowel Emmetts)
4. Gavin Crowley (Templenoe)

5. Greg Gibson (Waterville)
6. Brendan O’Sullivan (Valentia)
7. Tadhg Morley (Templenoe)

8. James Walsh (Knocknagoshel)
9. Liam Kearney (Spa)

10. Philip O’Connor (Cordal)
11. Jeff O’Donoghue (Glenflesk)
12. Denis Daly (St Mary’s)

13. Alan O’Donoghue (C) (John Mitchels)
14. Conor Cox (Listowel Emmetts)
15. Thomas Hickey (Castleisland Desmonds)


18. Eamonn Kiely (Brosna) for Morley (half-time)
17. Michael Brennan (Churchill) for Gibson (37)
21. Liam Carey (Beaufort) for Daly (45)
22. Adam Barry (Brosna) for Cox (49)
20. Gary O’Sullivan (Listry) for J O’Donoghue (57)
23. David Griffin (Ardfert) for O’Sullivan (59)


1. Gearóid Slattery (Cashel)

2. Ger Hally (Cahir)
3. Daragh Kearney (Clonmel Óg)
4. Donal Lynch Capt. (Clonmel Commercials)

5. Kevin Fahey (Clonmel Commercials)
6. Luke Boland (Moyle Rovers)
24. Jimmy Feehan (Killenaule)

8. Aldo Matassa (Clonmel Commercials)
9. Martin Dunne (Moyle Rovers)

10. Shane Leahy (Arravale Rovers)
20. Alan O’Riordan (JK Brackens)
12. Donagh Leahy (Arravale Rovers)

13. Kevin Fox (Éire Óg Annacarty)
14. Dean Lonergan (Cahir)
15. Dean McEnroe (JK Brackens)


11. Tommy Sweeney (Ballyporeen) for O’Riordan (30+6)
19. Gerry Cronin (Ardfinnan) for Dunne (47)
17. Niall Gleeson (Portroe) for S Leahy (49)
18. Mark Russell (Aherlow Gaels) for Matassa (56)
23. Dominic Walsh (Moyle Rovers) for D Leahy (60+1)

Referee: Michael Collins (Cork)

LIVE: Kerry v Tipperary, Cork v Clare – Munster senior football semi-finals

LIVE: Armagh v Donegal, Ulster SFC quarter-final