Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 10°C Tuesday 19 January 2021

Two All-Ireland minor winners in Kerry junior team as Tipperary side make two changes

The sides clash in Sunday’s opening game at Semple Stadium.

Liam Kearney lifts the All-Ireland minor trophy after Kerry's win last year.
Liam Kearney lifts the All-Ireland minor trophy after Kerry's win last year.
Image: James Crombie/INPHO

TWO ALL-IRELAND minor winners have been included in the Kerry starting team for Sunday’s Munster junior football semi-final against Tipperary.

Corner-back Dan O’Donoghue and midfielder Liam Kearney, who captained that minor team, are named to start for Sunday’s curtain-raiser while Liam Carey is included amongst the substitutes.

Kerry have named seven players from the team that lost to Cavan in last year’s All-Ireland junior final in Shane Murphy, Gavin Crowley, Greg Gibson, Brendan O’Sullivan, Philip O’Connor, Denis Daly and Thomas Hickey.

Daly and Gavin Crowley both featured for the Kerry U21 side this year.

Tipperary have made two changes for Sunday’s game as they seek to build on their opening round win over Waterford.

Kevin Fahey and Darragh O’Dwyer come into the side for Niall McKenna and Alan O’Riordan.

Jason Lonergan and Kevin Fahey celebrate Tipperary's Kevin Fahey (right) after their recent Munster U21 final victory. Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO


1. Shane Murphy (Kilcummin)

2. Dan O’Donoghue (Spa)
3. Jack McGuire (Listowel Emmetts)
4. Gavin Crowley (Templenoe)

5. Greg Gibson (Waterville)
6. Brendan O’Sullivan (Valentia)
7. Tadgh Morley (Templenoe)

8. James Walsh (Knocknagoshel)
9. Liam Kearney (Spa)

10. Philip O’Connor (Cordal)
11. Jeff O’Donoghue (Glenflesk)
12. Denis Daly (St Mary’s)

13. Alan O’Donoghue (C) (John Mitchels)
14. Conor Cox (Listowel Emmetts)
15. Thomas Hickey (Castleisland Desmonds)

Conor Cox Kerry's Conor Cox. Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

Subs: 16. Darragh O’Shea (Ballydonoghue), 17. Michael Brennan (Churchill), 18. Eamon Kiely (Brosna), 19. Paudie Clifford (Fossa), 20. Gary O’Sullivan (Listry), 21. Liam Carey (Beaufort), 22. Adam Barry (Brosna), 23. David Griffin (Ardfert), 24. Cillian Fitzgerald (Churchill).


1. Gearóid Slattery (Cashel)

2. Ger Hally (Cahir)
3. Darragh Kearney (Clonmel Óg)
4. Donal Lynch Capt. (Clonmel Commercials)

5. Kevin Fahey (Clonmel Commercials)
6. Luke Boland (Moyle Rovers)
7. Darragh O’Dwyer (Moyle Rovers)

8. Aldo Mattassa (Clonmel Commercials)
9. Martin Dunne (Moyle Rovers)

10. Shane Leahy (Arravale Rovers)
11. Tommy Sweeney (Ballyporeen)
12. Donough Leahy (Arravale Rovers)

13. Kevin Fox (Éire Óg Annacarty)
14. Dean Lonergan (Cahir)
15. Dean McEnroe (JK Brackens)

Here’s the Tipperary team that hopes to topple Kerry in Munster semi-final

Cooper in but O’Donoghue out as Kerry name 7 of All-Ireland team for Munster opener

Two ex-senior defenders in Cork team for Munster junior semi-final against Limerick

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: