This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 5 °C Wednesday 21 November, 2018

5 goals in Munster final as glory goes to Kerry with win over Tipperary in Killarney

Paul Geaney hit two goals for the Kingdom today.

Paul Murphy celebrates scoring Kerry's first half goal
Paul Murphy celebrates scoring Kerry's first half goal
Image: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

Kerry 3-17
Tipperary 2-10

Fintan O’Toole reports from Fitzgerald Stadium

THE EXPECTED OUTCOME in Killarney this afternoon but it was no stroll to success for Kerry as they completed a four-in-a-row of Munster senior football crowns.

Kerry were rocked by the concession of a goal after only 35 seconds had elapsed on the clock, when Tipperary defender Jimmy Feehan charged forward to find the net.

That setback certainly tested them yet Kerry were grateful to their two best forwards Paul Murphy and Paul Geaney, as they both bagged first half goals.

An interval advantage of 2-7 to 1-4 reflected Kerry’s superiority and Geaney showed his class when racing clear before bombing a left-foot shot to the net in the 48th minute for Kerry’s third goal.

That essentially clinched victory for Kerry yet Tipperary kept fighting with Robbie Kiely notching their second goal.

Kerry sprung James O’Donoghue during the bench for his first inter-county appearance since the 2015 All-Ireland final and he hit 0-4 as the Kingdom ran out victors by a ten-point margin.

Paul Murphy and Robbie Kiely Kerry's Paul Murphy challenges Tipperary's Robbie Kiely Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

Feehan gave Tipperary that ideal start but they conceded four out of the next five points in the game as the teams were level at 1-1 to 0-4 by the 11th minute.

Tipperary got a further injection of confidence as they went ahead 1-3 to 0-4 when Kevin O’Halloran slotted over a pair of points from frees.

But then Kerry took over to shoot 2-4 without reply, the goals arriving from Murphy in the 17th minute and from Geaney in the 27th minute. O’Halloran slotted a late first half free yet Tipperary trailed by six at the interval.

Tipperary’s task looked all the more daunting in the second half as they were outscored by 1-3 to 0-1 in the early stages.

Kerry enjoyed a 3-10 to 1-5 advantage by the 48th minute but Tipperary did not throw in the towel, despite trailing by 11 points. Kiely was set up by Quinlivan for a 50th minute goal before O’Halloran notched a pair of points to cut the gap to six.

Yet Kerry were able to do enough in the finale with O’Donoghue coming off the bench to shoot 0-4 and Barry John Keane also getting on the scoresheet. Tipperary registered a couple of fine points from play courtesy of Quinlivan and Alan Moloney but Kerry ran out deserving victors.

Kerry's James O'Donoghue in action against the Tipperary defence. Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

Scorers for Kerry: Paul Geaney 2-3, Paul Murphy 1-1, Bryan Sheehan (0-4f), James O’Donoghue (0-3f) 0-4 each, Barry John Keane, Mikey Geaney, Killian Young, Darran O’Sullivan, Stephen O’Brien 0-1 each.

Scorers for Tipperary: Kevin O’Halloran 0-6 (0-4f, 0-1 ’45), Jimmy Feehan, Robbie Kiely 1-0 each, Michael Quinlivan 0-3 (0-2f), Alan Moloney 0-1.


1. Brian Kelly (Killarney Legion)

2. Shane Enright (Tarbert)
3. Mark Griffin (St Michaels/Foilmore)
5. Brian Ó Beaglaoich (An Ghaeltacht)

23. Aidan O’Mahony (Rathmore)
4. Killian Young (Renard)
7. Tadhg Morley (Templenoe)

8. Kieran Donaghy (Austin Stacks)
9. Bryan Sheehan (Captain) (St Marys)

12. Donnchadh Walsh (Cromane)
11. Colm Cooper (Dr Crokes)
10. Paul Murphy (Rathmore)

13. Darran O’Sullivan (Glenbeigh-Glencar)
14. Paul Geaney (Dingle)
15. Stephen O’Brien (Kenmare)


20. Mikey Geaney (Dingle) for Cooper (inj) (20)
17. David Moran (Kerins O’Rahillys) for Donaghy (46)
22. Jonathan Lyne (Killarney Legion) for Ó Beaglaoich (46)
19. Barry John Keane (Kerins O’Rahillys) for O’Sullivan (49)
24. James O’Donoghue (Killarney Legion) for O’Brien (56)
21. Anthony Maher (Duagh) for Sheehan (65)


1.Evan Comerford (Kilsheelan-Kilcash)

4. Ciarán Mc Donald (Aherlow)
3. Alan Campbell (Moyle Rovers)
2. Colm O’Shaughnessy (Ardfinnan)

5. Bill Maher (Kilsheelan-Kilcash)
7. Robbie Kiely (Carbery Rangers)
17. Jimmy Feehan (Killeanule)

6. Peter Acheson (Moyle Rovers)
9. George Hannigan (Shannon Rovers)

10. Josh Keane (Golden-Kilfeacle)
13. Kevin O’Halloran (Portroe)
12. Brian Fox (Éire Óg Annacarty)

11. Philip Austin (Borrisokane)
14. Michael Quinlivan (Clonmel Commercials)
15. Conor Sweeney (Ballyporeen)


20. Shane O’Connell (Golden-Kilfeacle) for Keane (black card) (56)
19. Alan Moloney (Rockwell Rovers) for Austin (60)
8. Martin Dunne (Moyle Rovers) for Hannigan (66)
18. Shane Leahy (Arravale Rovers) for O’Shaughnessy (70)

Referee: David Gough (Meath)

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

Former defender Michael Carton questions Dublin’s progress under Ger Cunningham

Clifford stars as Kerry see off Cork in six-goal Munster minor final thriller

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next:


    Trending Tags