Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 10°C Monday 10 May 2021

McStay makes 5 changes to Roscommon team for Sunday's league clash with Louth

The Rossies are bound for Drogheda this weekend.

Roscommon football manager Kevin McStay.
Roscommon football manager Kevin McStay.
Image: Tommy Grealy/INPHO

ROSCOMMON BOSS KEVIN McStay has rung the changes for Sunday’s trip to face Louth in their Division 2 league tie as they seek to bounce back from defeat in their last league game at the hands of Down.

Roscommon saw off Galway in the rescheduled FBD League final last Sunday by 2-16 to 3-12 with McStay drafting in five new players to his starting side from that game.

David Murray comes into the defence at corner-back while Niall Daly is introduced at centre-back.

In attack Conor Devaney, Ciaran Lennon and Diarmuid Murtagh – who all came off the bench in that game in Dr Hyde Park – are named to start.

Philip Neilan, Tadhg McKenna, Fintan Cregg, Henry Walsh and Donie Smith all drop to the bench.

Roscommon’s league campaign has produced a mixed collection of results with a draw at home to Meath, a victory away to Tipperary in Thurles and then that five-point loss to Down.

Opponents Louth are rooted to the bottom of the table with three defeats.


1. James Featherston (Roscommon Gaels)

2. Seanie McDermott (Western Gaels)
3. Peter Domican (St Brigid’s)
4. David Murray (Padraig Pearses)

5. Ronan Daly (Padraig Pearses)
6. Niall Daly (Padraig Pearses)
7. Ross Timothy (St Croan’s)

8. Enda Smith (Boyle)
9. Conor Daly (Padraig Pearses)

10. Ciarán Murtagh (St Faithleach’s)
11. Niall Kilroy (Fuerty)
12. Conor Devaney (Kilbride – captain)

13. Diarmuid Murtagh (St Faithleach’s)
14. Ciaran Lennon (Clann na nGael)
15. Cathal Cregg (Western Gaels)


16. Colm Lavin (Éire Óg)
17. Cathal Compton (Strokestown)
18. Donie Smith (Boyle)
19. Fergal Lennon (Clann na nGael)
20. Fintan Cregg (Elphin)
21. Henry Walsh (Kilbride)
22. Ian Kilbride (St Brigid’s)
23. John McManus (Roscommon Gaels)(
24. Philip Neilan (Fuerty)
25. Shane Killoran (Elphin)
26. Tadhg McKenna (Boyle)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

‘We in the GAA want darkness and cover and, to me, that shows that there is a real problem’

Limerick hurler could face St Patrick’s Day club final and All-Ireland schools semi-final within 48 hours

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel