Super 8s or nowhere! Awesome Kildare steamroll Fermanagh by 11 points to advance

Kildare are into the Super 8s after they put 3-20 past Fermanagh in a superb display in Navan.

Kildare 3-20

Fermanagh 0-18

Kevin O’Brien reports from Pairc Tailteann, Navan

WITH THE 12-GAME losing streak firmly in the rearview mirror, Kildare’s fourth win on the bounce sealed their spot in the Super 8s tonight.

Neil Flynn celebrates scoring a goal Source: Tommy Dickson/INPHO

Inside forwards Daniel Flynn and Neill Flynn hit 2-8 between them as Cian O’Neill’s men cruised past a disappointing Fermanagh and into the All-Ireland quarter-finals.

They advance into Group 1 and will play the winners of tomorrow’s Laois-Monaghan clash next weekend Croke Park at 2pm as a curtain-raiser to the meeting of Kerry and Galway.

There were question marks hanging over Kildare’s ability to back-up last week’s superb victory over Mayo but they looked like a side energised by that win in Newbridge.

The major difference between teams was that Kildare actually looked like a side enjoying their football. Facing a massed defence, the Lilywhites needed to get out in front and force Fermanagh to chase the game, which is exactly what happened.

Such was the margin of victory, O’Neill was able to have Tommy Moolick, Kevin Feely, the Cribbin brothers, Daniel Flynn and Neil Flynn sitting in the dugout by 62nd minute, giving them a much-needed break ahead of the Super 8s next weekend.

Chris Healy arrived off the bench to slam in 1-2, Fergal Conway and Kevin Feely ruled the roost in midfield while Kevin Flynn and Eoin Doyle were excellent at the back.

Ryan Jones with Fionn Dowling Source: Tommy Dickson/INPHO

Fermanagh started with their usual system of employing James McMahon in the sweeper role and dropping 14 men behind ball, but from the early stages was apparent it wouldn’t be sufficient to hold the Kildare forwards.

Kildare took a leaf from Dublin’s template of breaking down defensive teams by keeping the width in the attack, not running down blind alleys and breaking the line with powerful runs from deep.

Keith Cribbin burst through for a point inside the opening minutes and the floodgates opened from there. Daniel Flynn got himself on the end of a long Fergal Conway delivery inside and smashed it past Patrick Cadden for their opening goal.

Cribbin saw a goal chance well-saved by Cadden soon after, but the points continued to arrive as the Lilywhites raced into a 1-7 to 0-3 lead.

Fermanagh had two substitutes introduced by the 31st minute, including talismanic figure Tomas Corrigan, as Rory Gallagher desperately tried to dig them out of trouble.

Eight Kildare men were on the scoresheet as they led by 1-13 to 0-5 at half-time.

Shortly after the restart, Tommy Moolick’s wonderful flick sent Eoin Doyle through on goal and he handpassed to Neil Flynn for an easy three-pointer.

With their progression into the last eight as good as sealed, O’Neill was able to run the bench with speed merchants Niall Kelly, Chris Healy and David Slattery introduced.

Michael Jones with Chris Healy Source: Tommy Dickson/INPHO

Sean Quigley arrived into the fray on 45 minutes and went on to clip over three for Fermanagh, but the Kildare scores were flowing at the far end via Neil Flynn and Healy.

Seamus Quigley’s dead-ball striking was impressive and he finished with eight points, but Healy and Paddy Brophy tagged on late scores. Then Healy tucked away a fantastic goal in the top corner to round off the win in some style.

Scorers for Kildare: Neil Flynn 1-5 (0-3f), Daniel Flynn 1-3, Chris Healy 1-2, Paddy Brophy and Kevin Flynn 0-2 each, Peter Kelly, Kevin Feely, Tommy Moolick, Keith Cribbin, Paul Cribbin and Fergal Conway 0-1 each.

Scorers for Fermanagh: Seamus Quigley 0-8 (0-6f, 0-1 45), Sean Quigley 0-3, Ryan Jones and Tomas Corrigan 0-2 each, Ruairi Corrigan, Declan McClusker and James McMahon 0-1 each.


1. Mark Donnellan (Maynooth)

2. Peter Kelly (Two Mile House)
3. David Hyland (Athy)
4. Mick O’Grady (Celbridge)

5. Johnny Byrne (Allenwood)
6. Eoin Doyle (Naas)
7. Kevin Flynn (Celbridge)

8. Kevin Feely (Athy)
9. Tommy Moolick (Leixlip)

10. Fergal Conway (Celbridge)
11. Paul Cribbin (Johnstownbridge)
12. Kevin Cribbin (Johnstownbridge)

What are they
really like?

Rare insights on sport's biggest names from the writers who know them best. Listen to Behind the Lines podcast.

Become a Member

13. Neill Flynn (Maynooth)
14. Daniel Flynn (Johnstownbridge)
15. Paddy Brophy (Celbridge)


22. Fionn Dowling (Crocha na Greine) for Moolick (43)
18. Chris Healy (Two Mile House) Feely (46)
19. Niall Kelly (Athy) for Paul Cribbin (49)
17. David Slattery (Confey) for Keith Cribbin (52)
20. Eamonn Callaghan (Nas na Riogh) for Daniel Flynn (60)
23. Mark Hyland (Athy) for Neill Flynn (62)


1. Patrick Cadden (St Patrick’s)

5. Barry Mulrone (Devenish)
3. Che Cullen (Belnaleck)
4. Michael Jones (Derrygonnelly)

6. James McMahon (Roslea)

7. Lee Cullen (Belnaleck)
11. Declan McCusker (Ederney)
12. Aidan Breen (Tempo)

8. Eoin Donnelly (Coa O’Dwyers)
20. Tom Clarke (Lios na Sceithe)

22. Daniel Teague (Drochead Mhid Uidhir)
9. Ryan Jones (Derrygonnelly)
10. Paul McCusker (Ederney)

14. Conall Jones (Derrygonnelly)
15. Séamus Quigley (Roslea)


24. Ryan Lyons (Gaeil na hEirne) for Conall Joes (ht)
10. Paul McCusker (St Joseph’s) for Clarke (43)
2. Kane Connor (Belnaleck) for Teague (24)
23. Tomas Corrigan (Cil Naile) for Breen (32)
13. Seán Quigley (Roslea) for Ruairi Corrigan (46)

Referee: Conor Lane (Cork)

Five-star Meath produce clinical performance to advance to Leinster MFC final

Who’ll fall at the last Super 8s hurdle, can Kildare back-up Newbridge and will Cork show up?

About the author:

Kevin O'Brien

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel