Tomas O'Connor fires the game's opening goal past Rob Hennelly. INPHO/Cathal Noonan
All White Now

Brophy snatches dramatic win for Kildare over Mayo

Kildare struck last to beat Mayo by a point in Newbridge.

Kildare 2-19

Mayo 2-18

PADDY BROPHY WAS Kildare’s hero with the winning point in a classic Division 1 encounter against Mayo.

Black cards for Paul Cribbin and Aidan O’Shea in the first half didn’t take away from an absorbing contest in Newbridge which saw the Lilywhites lead by four points at the break before they were pegged back.

Kevin McLaughlin looked to have secured a draw with a late pointed free before Brophy struck at the death to settle matters.

Cribbin’s early infraction forced Jason Ryan into a defensive reshuffle but they were given a crucial lift by Tomas O’Connor’s goal in the 28th minute.

Points from Brophy, Darroch Mulhall and Cathal McNally left the score at 1-11 to 0-10, and Mayo were dealt a further blow when O’Shea was black-carded on the stroke of half-time.

His replacement Brian Gallagher had an instant impact soon after the restart when he helped set up Jason Gibbons for a goal.


O’Shea shown a black card by referee Rory Hickey (INPHO/Cathal Noonan)

Darren Coen followed up with a second soon afterwards and when Shane McHale tacked on a point, it erased what had once been a six-point advantage for Kildare and left Mayo a point to the good, 2-11 to 1-13.

The Newbridge crowd hardly had time to catch its breath before Eoghan O’Flaherty got a goal to swing the game back in Kildare’s favour.

From there the sides matched each other stride for stride and were level at 2-15, 2-16 and finally 2-18.

Mayo looked set to escape with a point but it was Brophy, prolific all afternoon, who proved to be the difference maker in the final moments.

Kildare: Shane Connolly; Mick O’Grady, Mick Foley, Hugh McGrillen; Kevin Murnaghan, Emmet Bolton, Paul Cribbin; Tommy Moolick, Gary White; Cathal McNally, Eoghan O’Flaherty, Sean Hurley; Paddy Brophy, Darroch Mulhall, Padraig Fogarty.

Mayo: Rob Hennelly; Kevin Keane, Ger Cafferkey, Colm Boyle; Lee Keegan, Shane McHale, Brendan Harrison; Tom Parsons, Aidan O’Shea; Cathal Carolan, Keith Higgins, Adam Gallagher; Kevin McLoughlin, Andy Moran, Darren Coen.

Referee: Rory Hickey (Clare)

Your Voice
Readers Comments
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.