Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 1°C Friday 7 May 2021

O'Connor and Coen start in Mayo midfield for 'Newbridge or Nowhere' clash with Kildare

Johnny Byrne and Kevin Feely will both start for the Lilywhites.

O'Connor: midfield opportunity.
O'Connor: midfield opportunity.
Image: Oisin Keniry/INPHO

DIARMUID O’CONNOR WILL join Stephen Coen in the Mayo midfield for tomorrow’s Round 3 qualifier against Kildare in Newbridge.

Stephen Rochford is without both of his first-choice midfielders with Seamus O’Shea joining Tom Parsons on the long-term injury list, and O’Connor comes back in as the only change to the side which beat Tipperary last weekend.

Cian O’Neill makes two changes of his own to the side which dug out a late victory over Longford in Round 2 last Saturday night.

Johnny Byrne comes in at wing-back in place of Moorefield’s James Murray, while Kevin Feely is named to start alongside Tommy Moolick in midfield, with Niall Kelly missing out in the reshuffle.

Throw-in at St Conleth’s Park is at 7pm.


1. Mark Donnellan (Maynooth)

2. Peter Kelly (Two Mile House)
3. David Hyland (Athy)
4. Mick O’Grady (Celbridge)

5. Johnny Byrne (Allenwood)
6. Eoin Doyle (Naas – captain)
7. Kevin Flynn (Celbridge)

8. Kevin Feely (Athy)
9. Tommy Moolick (Leixlip)

10. Fergal Conway (Celbridge)
11. Paul Cribbin (Johnstownbridge)
12. Keith Cribbin (Johnstownbridge)

13. Neil Flynn (Maynooth)
14. Daniel Flynn (Johnstownbridge)
15. Paddy Brophy (Celbridge)


1. David Clarke (Ballina Stephenites)

2. Chris Barrett (Belmullet)
3. Ger Cafferkey (Ballina Stephenites)
4. Keith Higgins (Ballyhaunis)

5. Lee Keegan (Westport)
6. Colm Boyle (Davitts)
7. Patrick Durcan (Castlebar Mitchels)

Be part
of the team

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership.

Become a Member

8. Diarmuid O’Connor (Ballintubber)
9. Stephen Coen (Hollymount/Carramore)

10. Kevin McLoughlin (Knockmore)
11. Aidan O’Shea (Breaffy)
12. James Durcan (Castlebar Mitchels)

13. Jason Doherty (Burrishoole)
14. Cillian O’Connor (Ballintubber – captain)
15. Andy Moran (Ballaghaderreen)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Three-goal Kerry clinch EirGrid Munster U20 title against battling Cork

About the author:

Niall Kelly

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel