This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 10 °C Tuesday 22 October, 2019

Colm O'Neill gets the nod to start for Cork after his five-point show last weekend

Peadar Healy has named his team to face Kildare on Sunday.

Image: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

COLM O’NEILL’S FIVE-point haul as a second-half substitute last weekend has propelled him into the starting lineup for Cork’s trip to face Kildare on Sunday in Division 2 of the Allianz Football League.

O’Neill arrived off the bench to help Cork salvage a draw against Galway last weekend and he replaces Niall Coakley at corner forward in the only change to Peadar Healy’s side.

Kildare have named an unchanged side for the home clash against the Rebels.

Cian O’Neill’s side are aiming to build on their excellent start to the league when claiming a ten-point victory over Meath in Navan last Sunday.

Kildare can call on seven players from the side that defeated Cork in the counties last competitive clash, when Kildare won the qualifier in July 2015 in Semple Stadium.

Goalkeeper Mark Donnellan, defenders Mick O’Grady, Ollie Lyons and Eoin Doyle, midfielder Tommy Moolick, and forward pair Niall Kelly and Paul Cribbin all started in that game.


1. Ryan Price –  (O Donovan Rossa)

2. John McLoughlin – (Kanturk)
3. Tom Clancy – (Clonakilty)
4. Kevin Crowley – (Millstreet)

5. Conor Dorman – Bishopstown)
6. James Loughrey – (Mallow)
7. Tomas Clancy – (Fermoy)

8. Aidan Walsh – (Kanturk)
9. Ian Maguire – (St Finbarr’s)

10. Ruairi Deane – (Bantry Blues)
11. Sean Powter – (Douglas)
12. Mark Collins – (Castlehaven)

13. Colm O Neill – (Ballyclough)
14. Luke Connolly – (Nemo Rangers)
15. Paul Kerrigan – (Nemo Rangers) – Captain


16. Ken O’Halloran – (Bishopstown)
17. Barry O Driscoll – (Nemo Rangers)
18. Brian O Driscoll – (Tadhg MacCarthaigh)
19. Colm O Driscoll – (Tadhg MacCarthaigh)
20. Donal Og Hodnett –  (O Donovan Rossa)
21. Donncha O Connor – (Ballydesmond)
22. Gary Murphy – (Castletownbere)
23. John Mullins – (Eire Og)
24. John O Rourke – (Carbery Rangers)
25. Kevin Davis – (O Donovan Rossa)
26. Michael Shields – (St Finbarrs)


1. Mark Donnellan (Maynooth)

2. Mick O’Grady (Celbridge)
3. David Hyland (Athy)
4. Ollie Lyons (Celbridge)

5. Johnny Byrne (Allenwood)
6. Eoin Doyle (Naas)
7. Keith Cribbin (Johnstownbridge)

8. Kevin Feely (Athy)
9. Tommy Moolick (Leixlip)

10. Fergal Conway (Celbridge)
11. Niall Kelly (Athy)
12. Paul Cribbin (Johnstownbridge)

13. Neil Flynn (Maynooth)
14. Daniel Flynn (Johnstownbridge)
15. Ben McCormack (Sarsfields)

Additional reporting by Kevin O’Brien

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Two league debuts in Clare team to face Cork this weekend

Donnelly left out of Tyrone squad to face Dublin after second concussion in seven months

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: