Dublin: 5°C Friday 21 January 2022

Two late goals hand Galway victory over Kilkenny in All-Ireland minor replay

It was a victory for the Tribesmen in today’s first game at Croke Park.

Jack Coyne scores Galway's first goal of the game past Kilkenny's Shane Murphy.
Jack Coyne scores Galway's first goal of the game past Kilkenny's Shane Murphy.
Image: James Crombie/INPHO

Galway 3-10
Kilkenny 0-17

Fintan O’Toole reports from Croke Park

GALWAY PRODUCED A dramatic late rally by firing in two goals in the last five minutes to claim victory against Kilkenny in today’s All-Ireland minor hurling semi-final replay at Croke Park.

Substitutes Jack Kenny and Cian Salmon both raised green flags in the last five minutes to seal success for Galway and secure a spot in the final on 6 September.

Galway showed tremendous character to dig out a victory in this game, replicating the comebacks they had produced in last Sunday’s drawn game.

Having trailed by two points, 0-9 to 1-4, at the interval today, they drew level at the three quarter mark.

But Kilkenny pushed clear by 0-16 to 1-9 to leave Galway in trouble with five minutes left.

Then they received a lifeline when Salmon leaped to catch a high delivery and offloaded to Kenny who raced through and billowed the net with his first touch of the game.

Jack Kenny celebrates as his side scored a late goal Jack Kenny celebrates his late goal for Galway Source: James Crombie/INPHO

John Donnelly settled Kilkenny’s nerves to put them ahead 0-17 to 2-9 before Evan Niland cut the gap facing Galway by pointing a 57th minute free.

Then with a minute left on the clock, Thomas Monaghan floated in a cross from the Cusack Stand side and Sammon rose to bat the ball to the net for Galway’s third goal. There was a suspicion of a square ball offence but referee Colm Lyons allowed the goal to stand.

That transpired to be the last score of the game despite late Kilkenny pressure but the closest they came was when Andy Gaffney crashed a shot into the side netting.

Caelom Mulry celebrates at the final whistle Caelom Mulry celebrates Galway's win at the final whistle. Source: James Crombie/INPHO

Kilkenny will rue this loss. They were rocked early on when man-of-the-match Jack Coyne crept in for Galway’s first goal in the 7th minute after neat interplay with Brian Concannon.

That left Galway ahead 1-1 to 0-0 but Kilkenny outscored them 0-9 to 0-3 for the remainder of the first-half. Gaffney and Joe Connolly were both prominent in this regard while Kilkenny’s defence was in strong form.

John Donnelly and Tadhg O'Dwyer with Jack Fitzpatrick John Donnelly and Tadhg O'Dwyer of Kilkenny with Jack Fitzpatrick. Source: James Crombie/INPHO

Galway drew level after the break when Niland pointed a 43rd minute free that left the teams deadlocked at 1-9 to 0-12.

But Kilkenny – with Darren Mullen and Richie Leahy both inspirational – took over with Gaffney (2), Conor Hennessy and Edmund Delaney sending them four points clear.

It seemed sufficient to deliver the spoils but Galway timed their run to the finish line to perfection.

Richie Leahy is unable to get an attempt on goal late in the game Richie Leahy is unable to get an attempt on goal late in the game. Source: James Crombie/INPHO

Scorers for Galway: Evan Niland 0-5 (0-5f), Jack Coyne 1-2, Jack Kenny, Cian Salmon 1-0 each, Ian O’Brien, Thomas Monaghan, Michael Lynch 0-1 each.

Scorers for Kilkenny: Andy Gaffney 0-6 (0-3f, 0-2 ’65), Joe Connolly, Conor Hennessy 0-2 each, Michael Cody, Richie Leahy, Shane Mahony, Daniel O’Connor, John Donnelly, Tadhg O’Dwyer, Edmund Delaney 0-1 each.


1. Darragh Gilligan (Craughwell)

4. Kieran O’Connor (Kilnadeema-Leitrim)
3. Jack Fitzpatrick (Killimordaly)
2. Shane Bannon (Clarinbridge)

5. Caelom Mulry (Abbeyknockmoy)
6. Ian O’Brien (Clarinbridge)
7. Andrew Greaney (Craughwell)

8. Jack Grealish (Gort)
12. Fintan Burke (St Thomas)

9. Jack Coyne (Castlegar)
11. Tom Monaghan (Craughwell)
10. Brian Concannon (Killimordaly)

13. Michael Lynch (Kilnadeema-Leitrim)
14. Evan Niland (Clarinbridge)
15. Sean Loftus (captain) (Turloughmore)

17. Cianan Fahy (Ardrahan) for Grealish (28)
18. Liam Forde (Ardrahan) for Lynch (43)
20. Cian Salmon (Clarinbridge) for Burke (45)
19. Jack Kenny (Kilnadeema-Leitrim) for Concannon (53)


1. Shane Murphy (Glenmore)

2. Michael Cody (Dunnamaggin)
3. Tommy Walsh (Tullaroan)
4. Cathal McGrath (John Lockes)

7. Conor Doheny (Dicksboro)
18. Ryan Bergin (John Lockes)
5. Darren Mullen (Ballyhale Shamrocks)

6. Darragh Joyce (Rower-Inistioge)
9. Joe Connolly (Clara)

20. Conor Hennessy (Tullogher-Rosbercon)
11. Shane Mahony (O’Loughlin Gaels)
15. Tadhg O’Dwyer (James Stephens)

13. Andy Gaffney (Dicksboro)
8. Richie Leahy (Rower-Inistioge)
10. Daniel O’Connor (O’Loughlin Gaels – captain)

12. John Donnelly (Thomastown) for O’Connor (39)
19. Edmund Delaney (Conahy Shamrocks) for Connolly (45)
22. Bill Sheehan (Dicksboro) for O’Dwyer (54)
21. Niall Walsh (Windgap) for Bergin (58)
14. Joey Cuddihy (Ballyhale Shamrocks) for Mahony (60)

Referee: Colm Lyons (Cork)

Brendan Cummins: Dealing with Galway’s Hercules, pressure on Joe and Tipp’s credentials

How do you stop the Tipperary attacking duo Callanan and O’Dwyer?

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: