Dublin: 11°C Monday 20 September 2021

Kilkenny hand All-Ireland semi-final starting role to Richie Hogan

Waterford, meanwhile, have named an unchanged side.

Richie Hogan came off the bench to score 1-2 for Kilkenny in their Leinster final win over Galway.
Richie Hogan came off the bench to score 1-2 for Kilkenny in their Leinster final win over Galway.
Image: Ken Sutton/INPHO

Updated Nov 27th 2020, 8:41 PM

THE INCLUSION OF Richie Hogan at full-forward is one of three changes to the Kilkenny team for tomorrow’s All-Ireland senior hurling semi-final against Waterford at Croke Park (6pm).

Hogan gets the nod after making a key contribution to the Leinster final win over Galway, when he chipped in with 1-2 after being introduced as a substitute.

Kilkenny manager Brian Cody has also added Billy Ryan to his inside forward line, with TJ Reid moving out to centre-forward and captain Colin Fennelly dropping to the bench. Walter Walsh is the other forward who makes way.

Paddy Deegan comes in at left-half-back, which sees Conor Fogarty revert to midfield to replace Richie Leahy, who has been carrying a hamstring injury.

Waterford, meanwhile, have named an unchanged line-up for the game. There is, however, one alteration to the bench with Billy Power getting the nod ahead of Ciaran Kirwan.

Kilkenny (v Waterford)

1. Eoin Murphy (Glenmore)

2. Conor Delaney (Erin’s Own)
3. Huw Lawlor (O’Loughlin Gaels)
4. Tommy Walsh (Tullaroan)

5. Padraig Walsh (Tullaroan)
6. Cillian Buckley (Dicksboro)
7. Paddy Deegan (O’Loughlin Gaels)

8. Conor Browne (James Stephens)
9. Conor Fogarty (Erin’s Own)

10. John Donnelly (Thomastown)
11. TJ Reid (Ballyhale Shamrocks)
12. Martin Keoghan (Tullaroan)

13. Billy Ryan (Graigue-Ballycallan)
14. Richie Hogan (Danesfort)
15. Eoin Cody (Ballyhale Shamrocks)


16. Darren Brennan (St Lachtain’s)
17. Paul Murphy (Danesfort)
18. Joey Holden (Ballyhale Shamrocks)
19. Ciarán Wallace (Erin’s Own)
20. Richie Reid (Ballyhale Shamrocks)
21. Alan Murphy (Glenmare)
22. Colin Fennelly (Ballyhale Shamrocks)
23. Walter Walsh (Tullogher-Rosbercon)
24. Liam Blanchfield (Bennettsbridge)
25. Ger Aylward (Glenmare)
26. Niall Brassil (James Stephens)


1. Stephen O’Keefe (Ballygunner) 

2. Ian Kenny (Ballygunner) 

3. Conor Prunty (Captain) (Abbeyside) 

4. Shane McNulty (De La Salle) 

5. Calum Lyons (Ballyduff Lower) 

6. Tadhg de Burca (Clashmore/Kinsalebeg) 

7. Kevin Moran (De La Salle) 

8. Jamie Barron (FourMileWater) 

9. Jake Dillon (De La Salle) 

Be part
of the team

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership.

Become a Member

10. Jack Fagan (De La Salle) 

11. Kieran Bennett (Ballysaggart) 

12. Stephen Bennett (Ballysaggart) 

13. Dessie Hutchinson (Ballygunner) 

14. Austin Gleeson (Mount Sion) 

15. Jack Prendergast (Lismore) 


16. Billy Nolan (Roanmore) 

17. Peter Hogan (Ballymore) 

18. Mark O’Brien (Ferrybank) 

19. Mikey Kearney (Ballyduff Upper) 

20. Patrick Curran (Dungarvan) 

21. Colin Dunford (Colligan) 

22. Conor Gleeson (FourMileWater) 

23. Darragh Lyons (Dungarvan) 

24. Neil Montgomery (Abbeyside) 

25. Iarlaith Daly (Lismore) 

26. Billy Power (Clonea) 


Screenshot 2020-11-24 at 9.04.07 AM

About the author:

Paul Dollery

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel